Jen's Chorizo Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was an awesome pasta.. But I changed the recipe some what. I bought the chorizo from the meat market down the street. I didn't grill it because chorizo has so much flavor I didn't want to loose it and you will with grilling, so I steamed/water boiled it in a pan. When I pulled the sausage out of the pan I kept all the grease in there and sauteed the onions, bell pepper and mushrooms in the grease.. I didn't use the extra 1 tablespoon butter. It was great! :) My husband really loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
AWESOME! I couldn't find chorizo in links anywhere, so I ended up using the bulk, which I cooked up and drained REALLY well. I only used 1 stick of butter and I thought that was plenty, and used shell pasta because that's what the little guy requested, but followed the recipe otherwise. This had great flavor and a nice spicy kick to it, which we LOVED! I will definately be making this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made a few minor changes, which is easy to do with most "one dish" dinners. I sauteed the mushrooms in about one cup dry white wine and then added the already partially sauteed onions and peppers. I also added the garlic at this time. After the mushrooms were soft, I added the butter, parmesan, cream and Chorizo. To this I added a drained 12 ounce can of black beans. I tasted it and it brought tears to my eyes. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Very good but can cut back a bit on the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I pretty much followed the recipe minus the mushrooms. (BF doesn't like them) Easy and delicious! The only other thing I did differently was to add the red bell pepper strips to the onion and garlic after it was translucent and before adding the pepper flakes and actually making the sauce. Oh, only used 1/2 cup butter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
We absolutely LOVE this! We have a family of 8 and you can bulk this up just by adding extra noodles and sauce and there is still plenty of meat and veggies! I use bulk chorizo to spread it further than chunked links. And this recipe is so forgiving! I used an extra 1/2 box penne tonight so I added an extra 1/2 of the sauce recipe. Didn't have enough butter this time, but 1 cup was plenty. You can cook the sauce a little, a lot, have the veggies crunchy, soft, more butter, less butter, etc. and it still turns out wonderfully! Like I said, forgiving recipe! One of our faves and definitely worth a try if you're looking for something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was great and very flavorful. The chorizo in this is so yummy. I made it very close to the recipe except a little less butter. Other than that there is nothing I would change. My husband had three servings and my picky 8 year old son had seconds (except for the red peppers). It may use a couple of pans but so worth the extra dish washing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Awesome! The grocery store unfortunately didnt have chorizo so I bought hot Italian sausage and it was still fantastic. Will definitely try and find chorizo for next time. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was really good. My family and I really enjoyed it. I used Portuguese Chourico links and instead of grilling them I just sauteed them in a pan with the onion and pepper. I also left out the mushrooms because we are not mushroom eating people. Will certainly make this again. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was better than average. Prep time seems off by some. And the dishes take longer than the prep. I had to use bulk chorizo too, which could've only made it better. That "other" chorizo in the ingredients isn't that good. As much as I wanted it to be 5 stars for the effort, it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States