Jen's Chorizo Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The whole family loved this. My daughter asked for it again already, saying she's dreaming about it. My changes: halved the butter, used ground chorizo as I already had it; cooked onions and garlic together, then added chorizo, cooked, then added peppers. Left out mushrooms. I don't think my changes altered the overall flavor too much, at least I hope...if Jen reads this I think it's a great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Yummy and flavorful! I made a few modifications, broke the chorizo out of the casing and sauted the meat like you would ground beef, then satued the veggies in that fat that was left over and cut out about half the butter in the sauce to make it a little healthier. I used unsalted butter for the sauce so I also added a pinch of salt to the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe was great! I did take the casing off the sausage and used it ground instead, kept the pepper flakes out and I only used 1/2 c. of butter instead of 1 cup. It got a 9.5 from my husband and a 9 from our 9 year old son. Very flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Well the chorizo was not the kind called for in the recipe so I was not able to cook like the recipe called for. I follwed the rest of the recipe and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Awesome!!! The only thing I changed was sauteing the onion and garlic then adding the rest of the veggies followed by the cream and cheese. It was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaytonsMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My family LOVED this dish. I can't eat parm cheese so I just left it out. We didn't miss it at all. We didn't grill the sausage- I just took it out of the casing and browned it like hamburger meat. I used portabella mushrooms so the sauce was a funny gray color. Next time I will stick with the white mushrooms just for aesthetics. Thank you Jen for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was the first time I had used (or even tasted) chorizo. It was a great recipe to try it out! I loved it! I did change the recipe a little to my personal preference...3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 cup of milk, 1/8 tsp crushed red peppers. I also used one chopped portobello mushroom instead of button mushrooms, which gave this dish great flavor! My boyfriend and I are in love with this recipe, and will be making it again! It will now be a staple for us. As amazing as I thought this was, the leftovers left something to be desired. While my co-worker enjoyed it and said it was "restaurant-quality" :) I felt that the sauce had separated and was very very greasy tasting. I enjoyed it much more when it was fresh. I will scale back the recipe next time, as this made enough to feed a small army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Followed recipe with only the following substitution; used 1 cup Lactose Free Milk in place of the heavy whipping cream. This dish is Delicious with a capital D! We loved it. You could also use Sweet Italian Sausage or any sauage for that matter. Very creamy and very yummy! It's in the Quick & Easy file. I'll make again soon on nights I need a quick, easy, filling and DELICIOUS dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was better than average. Prep time seems off by some. And the dishes take longer than the prep. I had to use bulk chorizo too, which could've only made it better. That "other" chorizo in the ingredients isn't that good. As much as I wanted it to be 5 stars for the effort, it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was really good. My family and I really enjoyed it. I used Portuguese Chourico links and instead of grilling them I just sauteed them in a pan with the onion and pepper. I also left out the mushrooms because we are not mushroom eating people. Will certainly make this again. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States