Jen's Chorizo Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This recipe was great! I did take the casing off the sausage and used it ground instead, kept the pepper flakes out and I only used 1/2 c. of butter instead of 1 cup. It got a 9.5 from my husband and a 9 from our 9 year old son. Very flavorful. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Well the chorizo was not the kind called for in the recipe so I was not able to cook like the recipe called for. I follwed the rest of the recipe and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Awesome!!! The only thing I changed was sauteing the onion and garlic then adding the rest of the veggies followed by the cream and cheese. It was amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaytonsMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
My family LOVED this dish. I can't eat parm cheese so I just left it out. We didn't miss it at all. We didn't grill the sausage- I just took it out of the casing and browned it like hamburger meat. I used portabella mushrooms so the sauce was a funny gray color. Next time I will stick with the white mushrooms just for aesthetics. Thank you Jen for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was the first time I had used (or even tasted) chorizo. It was a great recipe to try it out! I loved it! I did change the recipe a little to my personal preference...3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup, 2 cloves of garlic, 1 cup of milk, 1/8 tsp crushed red peppers. I also used one chopped portobello mushroom instead of button mushrooms, which gave this dish great flavor! My boyfriend and I are in love with this recipe, and will be making it again! It will now be a staple for us. As amazing as I thought this was, the leftovers left something to be desired. While my co-worker enjoyed it and said it was "restaurant-quality" :) I felt that the sauce had separated and was very very greasy tasting. I enjoyed it much more when it was fresh. I will scale back the recipe next time, as this made enough to feed a small army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Followed recipe with only the following substitution; used 1 cup Lactose Free Milk in place of the heavy whipping cream. This dish is Delicious with a capital D! We loved it. You could also use Sweet Italian Sausage or any sauage for that matter. Very creamy and very yummy! It's in the Quick & Easy file. I'll make again soon on nights I need a quick, easy, filling and DELICIOUS dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was better than average. Prep time seems off by some. And the dishes take longer than the prep. I had to use bulk chorizo too, which could've only made it better. That "other" chorizo in the ingredients isn't that good. As much as I wanted it to be 5 stars for the effort, it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was really good. My family and I really enjoyed it. I used Portuguese Chourico links and instead of grilling them I just sauteed them in a pan with the onion and pepper. I also left out the mushrooms because we are not mushroom eating people. Will certainly make this again. Thanks Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Awesome! The grocery store unfortunately didnt have chorizo so I bought hot Italian sausage and it was still fantastic. Will definitely try and find chorizo for next time. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was great and very flavorful. The chorizo in this is so yummy. I made it very close to the recipe except a little less butter. Other than that there is nothing I would change. My husband had three servings and my picky 8 year old son had seconds (except for the red peppers). It may use a couple of pans but so worth the extra dish washing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne Spring Pasta

A gorgeously green spring pasta with asparagus, peas, and fresh mint.

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States