Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My family did not care for the cherries and liquor the first time I made it, so the second time I used chocolate mousse for the filling and a chocolate ganache for the top it was absolutely fabulous. This is the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten!!! Really you can add any topping/ frosting you like and it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Husband liked it! (I accidentally added the Kirsch to the batter, so I added an extra egg and half a cup of flour.) He prefers the cake with the cherries baked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby would like me to find a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling, and he would have preferred whipped cream in the construction of the cake. Having said that, he had no trouble finishing off the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Used frosting from "Black Forest Cake I". Made cake with half wh wheat flour, little less sugar. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Excellent moist chocolate cake and very simple to make. Now a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
made this cake for mothers day, everyone loved it and was begging me for the recipe. definitely my new go-to chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
So good. So much glory. I made it for a party. I had never had it a day in my life, but everything pointed to trying out this recipe. Personally I'm not a radical chocolate cake person, but the recipe is phenominal. I recommend to anyone thinking about trying it, "DO IT." Follow the recipe and you're golden. People will experience God through your baking and your life may just radically change. Like most of the others I didn't use liquor, instead I added a layer of cool whip to the middle mixed with homemade whip cream and did the same for the top and sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful cake and is definitely a keeper! I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of the kirsch (cherry liquor), I brushed it on top of both cake layers. This worked very well as you could taste the kirsh but it wasn't overpowering. My only other suggestion might be to use parchment paper as well as greasing and flouring the pan as it was a bit difficult to get out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is the best chocolate cake yet! It was for my nephews birthday by request. The only alter was using the Cherry recipe from Black Forest Cake 1. Wonderful, I will be making it again in 3 weeks by request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Makes a great cake but I needed to add 1/2 cup more flour, it was a bit too runny...turned out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States