Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
OMG this is the best freaking chocolate cake I've ever eaten. Yeah, the batter is a little runny, but it makes for the most moist cake you'll ever shove in your face. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The taste of this cake is awesome! However, I live at high altitude and needed to add an extra egg, extra flour, little extra milk. Then placed entire batter into 8 inch cake pans. Thank goodness placed them on a cookie sheet. When I checked after about 20 minutes batter was bubbling out all over! Once it was done and out of the oven I got to taste it and it's delicious if a little unconventional looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I Had followed every single step from this recipe and video as well.. except I add 3 table spoon of dark rum inside the cake batter and half cup.of rum into cherry fillings...doesn't look like the video.. moist cake... mine look like hard like a rock chocolate rum cake.. . took me 2 hours to make that cake plus spent another hour to make fresh chocolate whipped cream and cherries to decorated the topping..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AKMONKI
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
It was the first (successful) black forest cake I've made, and I was surprisingly pleased with the end result. The batter smelled a bit burnt cooking in the oven (but the oven may have been on too high), and didn't wait long enough for them to cool before assembling, as I was in a rush. I poached some canned cherries and poured the sugar syrup over the cake layers to moisten it, then layered and covered the cake in hand-whipped cream. If I had timed things better, I think it would have been perfect! It was delicious for the next few days, so I think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
The cake itself tasted good and was very moist. Using 8" cake pans made the cake too high for my carrier. Next time I'll do 4 thin 9" cakes. Of 11 people at the birthday party, no one liked the liqueur; everyone said they would have preferred just plain cherry pie filling. We all agreed that we don't want this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I NEVER rate recipes on this site and I make at least one a week from this website but this recipe totally sucks! I wanted to use coffee in a recipe and came across this one. I LOVE black forest cake so I was excited to try it. I made it exactly according to instructions and the batter was not cooked all the way thru when it came out. It fell apart and so I was not able to make it look nice...all I can really say is BOOOOOO! to this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My family did not care for the cherries and liquor the first time I made it, so the second time I used chocolate mousse for the filling and a chocolate ganache for the top it was absolutely fabulous. This is the best chocolate cake I have ever eaten!!! Really you can add any topping/ frosting you like and it will be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Husband liked it! (I accidentally added the Kirsch to the batter, so I added an extra egg and half a cup of flour.) He prefers the cake with the cherries baked inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Hubby would like me to find a fresher alternative to cherry pie filling, and he would have preferred whipped cream in the construction of the cake. Having said that, he had no trouble finishing off the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Used frosting from "Black Forest Cake I". Made cake with half wh wheat flour, little less sugar. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States