Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing except I left out the cherry filling(didn't have any) & it came out perfect! love this & everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natkar06

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great Recipe. I did not change a thing. It came out super moist and was a big hit with friends. I topped mine with homemade whipped cream, shaved chocolate and maraschino cherries . If I make it again I will probably be a bit more adventurous and make my own cherry filling. However, it was still very yummy with the canned filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this as a birthday cake. It was great!!!! I used a chocolate ganache for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
FABULOUS! this recipe deserves its 5-stars! i will use this recipe also when i'm wanting just a simple chocolate cake. the cake was dense, moist and delicious! thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was only having a couple of friends over, so I baked it in a loaf pan (half of the recipe) and the other half as cupcakes. Also I only used 1/2 C of instant coffee (the only thing I had in hand) and didn't use the liqueur... just whipped cream and cherry pie filling. Wow! My friends were impressed. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kulsum khalid
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is the best black forest recipe i have ever tried testes and tasted it is superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This cake came out wonderfully! So moist and great taste. For the filling I made the chocolate cream cheese coconut frosting, and on the outside, I mixed whipped topping with 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, and 1/4 cup unsweetened chocolate power, I think next time I will make this into cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for a friend's birthday party that was held at our local pool hall. I didn't have any myself (because I added the Kirsch) but the cake was visually stunning. Acquaintances who were also at the pool hall approached our table and asked me for a piece of cake! I iced the cake with real whipped cream, chocolate fudge pudding, and the cherry mixture. (I also put the pudding on each of the layers-I had 4) I got rave reviews and people couldn't believe it was my first time making black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Good cake. I only made 1/2 the recipe and cooked them in smaller loaf pans because there was only 4 people to feed -way more than enough. Worked great as a log shaped cake- ended up being four layers. I skipped the brandy, but forgot to add the extra liquid in lieu. The cake should have been a little more moist. I will make sure to add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this cake for my sister's annual christmas party and everyone loved it so much I made it twice more during the holidays!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States