Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was a very easy cake to make, came out moist and delicious, disappeared like lightning. I did not have cherry Liqueur so I substituted Cherry Flavored brandy, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rfgibbo
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So very good ! I made cupcakes for a classroom full of 3rd graders for my sons German Culture presentation and they loved it . I'm German and I couldn't believe how good they recipe turn out !! No alcohol !! :-) Fantastic, Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A-MAZ-ING!!!!!! So yummy and moist and deelish! Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This cake recipe is nearly identical to the "Black Magic Cake" which is also listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tori45
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee. Decorated it differently but kept everything else the same. This cake is so amazing I have made it 3 times in less than a month! It is so moist. Better than box cake and with ingredients I had in my pantry! I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
i made this cake for my husband's birthday and it was a great success. this was my first tall and layer cake. it came out very well. everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is it! This is the chocolate cake I have been searching for. It's moist, sticky, and spongy. Since I don't have two 8 inch cake pans I used two 9 inch pans and it still baked well at 30 minutes. I love how chocolatey it is. It's intensely chocolate actually. And kudos for the coffee addition, it does good things for the chocolate. This recipe is definitely a winner. My family enjoyed it very much and it didn't last long at all. I already have requests to make another. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by misheclark
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I used the cake portion of this recipe and it was perfect. It was really chocolatey, moist, and not too dense. I didn't use this filling recipe. I put cherries and whipped cream between the layers and frosted with a chocolate ganache frosting. I decorated the top of the cake with more cherries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmellyPrawn
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thank you for this amazing recipe. I'd never made a cake from scratch before and this turned out perfectly!! It was seriously one of the most delicious cakes I've ever had. I didn't use the cherry liqueur, just used plain cherry pie filling. I was in a hurry when I made it so I didn't try to make it look pretty but it didn't even matter because it tasted so good, everyone loved it! I also used real buttermilk instead of making sour milk. And I made whipped cream to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made it with raspberries, as that's what I had on hand, for a work treat and the whole department begged for the recipe. Very rich, gooey chocolate cake. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States