Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I made this as a birthday cake and it turned out wonderful. Just rich enough without being too rich, very moist without falling apart. Used cool whip as a topping, as the cake is fabulous enough without a frosting. Only changes I made was adding a little cardamom to the batter and I omitted the liqueur this time (but will definitely try it next time.) Will definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This is excellent - beautiful results with relatively little work. I whipped up a big container of Rich's Whip and put it in between the two layers with the cherry filling, and on top with a few cherries for garnishes. My company was impressed with the looks and loved the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Absolutely delicious... moist, yet dense... it was great... definately a repeat... I didn't use the alcohol in the filling, but the cake was absolutely yummy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
I barely made any changes to the actual cake portion of this recipe but did use 1/4 cup applesauce in addition to ¼ cup oil instead of a full ½ cup of oil. I also used half of Hershey’s Dark cocoa as well as regular unsweetened cocoa. Using the cake as a base, I added the following, loosely following another recipe: Once cake cooled, I poked holes into each cake using a long tined fork then poured a mix of cherry juice and slight amount of brandy onto each cake. Then I used a mix of .5 cup creamed butter, .3 cup of /granulated sugar and almond extract to make a buttercream filling and put a layer on one of the cakes. I put one can of cherry pie filling (excluding juice) on that same cake then topped with slightly sweetened heavy whipping cream. I put the other cake on top then laid another can of cherry pie filling, sans juice, on top followed with more whipped cream. I used 2 cups of liquid heavy whipping cream when I made the cream for the middle and top of cake, which was perfect. I had one slice right away and, while it was good, thought it was missing something, but didn’t know what. The cherries were somehow boring as well. The next day, somehow, it was wonderful! It was very moist and the flavors were enhanced. I originally thought the buttercream was a waste of time; however, each day that passes (day 3 now), the filling flavor comes out more and really makes this cake! I will definitely use this recipe for any chocolate cakes I make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This cake was a delicious addition to a dinner I had with friends. I used soymilk to make it vegan. I also used splenda and no sugar added cherries to make it healthier. It was amazing and delicious! Def recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I can't say enough about this cake, it was excellent! I didn't add the liquor, as I didn't have any on hand and I added whip cream into the layer and iced it with whip cream. It was so moist, everybody had seconds. I found my husband the next day with a fork and the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
OMG!!!! THE BEST!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bogota, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This recipe was excellent, and relatively easy to make! I used 3 different sixed layers, which worked great, and iced it with 1 and a half cups of cream, 3 teaspoons of cherry liquor and 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence whipped in to stiff peaks. It went down a treat!! Cherries, fresh or tinned, make great decorations as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I made this into cupcakes, and it was tender, moist, & delicious--not too sweet & very chocolatey. I will definitely try it as a layer cake, using the cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Fantastic!! I made this cake for a small dinner party and everyone raved. I didn't use any liqueur but it was still delicious. I frosted the sides with the Cool Whipped Frosting and it was perfect! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States