Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by The Sporadic Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This cake tasted fabulous! One of the best tasting black forest cake recipes! Note: the coffee needs to be a dark roast and strong to taste it in the cake; used dark chocolate AND regular unsweetened cocoa powder (1/2 cup of the dark and 1/4 cup of the regular cocoa powder). Also, I live at a high altitude and had trouble with the center of the cakes falling and baking time was about 10 minutes longer. Need suggestions about baking cakes from scratch at high altitudes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Excellent chocolate cake. I received rave reviews about how moist it was. Rich and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This cake was fantastic! I didn't add cherries or whipped cream, because I wanted to test the basic recipe for a German-themed party I'll be having. Also, my son has an egg allergy, so I substituted the eggs for 1/4 cup of applesauce (takes a few minutes longer to bake when I do that). The cake was so moist and flavorful and delicious!! I can't wait to make it again WITH the cherries and frosting and serve it at our party later this month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
thank u so much i used this to make my mom her b-day cake and it came out so good!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. Made a couple of minor changes: the 1T vinegar wasn't enough to sour my milk so I added another T; I also made it gluten free by using 3/4c. brown rice flour + 1/2c. white rice flour + 1/2c. glutinous rice flour + 1t. xanthan gum in place of the wheat flour, everything else remained the same. I also found that it took 40 min total to bake, but i only had a 9x13 pan so that may account for the additional time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Easy, quick and excellent. The texture was just right. I too, left out the cherry liquor, and at about 100 ft sea level I baked it about 40 min. We put home made whip on top, we decortated it with chocolate swirls made from melted chocolate chips that we drizzled on freezer paper and let harden in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Loved it but it took me three trys. I need to find ut what to adjust for high altitude as the pans over filled and ran over in the oven....I live in Aspen at 7900 ft.....any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Wycoff
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Great recipe and easy to adjust to individual tastes. Made it for work and it was gone in an instant! Definately will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake4fun
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This is definately a keeper!!! I made my own birthday cake with this recipe. I used the Cherry Pie filling recipe on this site (cut in half) and Sweetened Whipped Cream Recipe. Used 2 cup heavy cream, 5 Tbs Confectioners Sugar and 1 tsp vanilla. The cake was moist, fluffy and really good! It tasted like a bakery cake. I will use this recipe again for the chocloate cake. I did not use liqueur b/c I don't like liqueur on my cakes. Update*** I used 1 1/2 cups cherries, 1/4 cup sugar & 1 Tbs cornstarch for the filling. Follow diections for cherry pie filling. It was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Perfect! The batter was really runny, but the cakes turned out so moist! (I used this recipe for cupcakes). I would definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolekrystyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States