Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by piersonac
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The cake was much loved by all at Thanksgiving. I did not add the liqueur, because I could not find it anywhere, but it was great without it. I also used 2 cans of cherry pie filling because I wanted to drizzle some on top. I used a homemade whipped cream for my icing. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe is wonderful, easy, quick, moist and not crazy sweet, but nicely! I mixed up cherry pie filling with the liquid of Maraschino's cherry and a spoon of vodka, because didn't find cherry liqueur, it came out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I had the same problem as Jay-Nut with the 2 8"rounds overflowing in the oven but don't live at high altitudes. I had a funny feeling when the pans were 3/4 full that it wasn't right, but doublechecked the recipe and my pan size. Mine are the traditional 8" pan, not the deeper ones. Will try 9" pans next time. Everyone raves, so worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Sporadic Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This cake tasted fabulous! One of the best tasting black forest cake recipes! Note: the coffee needs to be a dark roast and strong to taste it in the cake; used dark chocolate AND regular unsweetened cocoa powder (1/2 cup of the dark and 1/4 cup of the regular cocoa powder). Also, I live at a high altitude and had trouble with the center of the cakes falling and baking time was about 10 minutes longer. Need suggestions about baking cakes from scratch at high altitudes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Excellent chocolate cake. I received rave reviews about how moist it was. Rich and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This cake was fantastic! I didn't add cherries or whipped cream, because I wanted to test the basic recipe for a German-themed party I'll be having. Also, my son has an egg allergy, so I substituted the eggs for 1/4 cup of applesauce (takes a few minutes longer to bake when I do that). The cake was so moist and flavorful and delicious!! I can't wait to make it again WITH the cherries and frosting and serve it at our party later this month!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
thank u so much i used this to make my mom her b-day cake and it came out so good!!!!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Absolutely delicious. Made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. Made a couple of minor changes: the 1T vinegar wasn't enough to sour my milk so I added another T; I also made it gluten free by using 3/4c. brown rice flour + 1/2c. white rice flour + 1/2c. glutinous rice flour + 1t. xanthan gum in place of the wheat flour, everything else remained the same. I also found that it took 40 min total to bake, but i only had a 9x13 pan so that may account for the additional time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Easy, quick and excellent. The texture was just right. I too, left out the cherry liquor, and at about 100 ft sea level I baked it about 40 min. We put home made whip on top, we decortated it with chocolate swirls made from melted chocolate chips that we drizzled on freezer paper and let harden in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Loved it but it took me three trys. I need to find ut what to adjust for high altitude as the pans over filled and ran over in the oven....I live in Aspen at 7900 ft.....any ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Haas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States