Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great recipe. I did not use the liqueur though. Instead, I bought the canned cherry filling washed off the liquid in it and mixed the chopped cherries with some of the whipped cream and layered the cake with it after drizzling with the cherry syrup. then topped with whipped cream. It was a super hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Good recipe, however, the batter is very thin. When I tried it with a spring form cake pan, it leaked and made a huge mess. I guess you should just stick with the regular cake pans when making this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very moist and delicious cake. I split each layer in 2 and used double the filling. I would make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made this cake for my 1 yr anniversary in September and it was the best tasting cake I've ever had! Making it again for New Years Eve. Last time I used cherry pie filling and this time I'm using raspberry. Going to ice the cake with cream cheese icing like last time. It's delicious with the cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe! My partner asks me for it often, and my grandbaby calls it "messy cake", because I cover it in whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wow, I've made this cake thre times and it has never failed to please. Fantastic, it almost has the taste of a red velvet. I highly recommend it with cream cheese frosting. I replaced the cherry liquor with raspberry schnapps and it was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Delicious. It was also the first cake I had baked in quite some time, and the recipe was very easy and forgiving. It was gone very quickly; I will definitely be saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnMaPie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Made this into a Portal-style anniversary cake for my bf. Everyone who tried it had nothing but good things to say - three months later, my mother still raves about how delicious it was! The only thing I would change in the future is omit the cherry liqueur - it made the filling a bit too runny and didn't add anything I felt I would miss. Still - a perfectly yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piersonac
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The cake was much loved by all at Thanksgiving. I did not add the liqueur, because I could not find it anywhere, but it was great without it. I also used 2 cans of cherry pie filling because I wanted to drizzle some on top. I used a homemade whipped cream for my icing. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States