Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I make this cake every year for my husband and for my brother on their birthdays..I top with maarscarpone frosting and it's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I tried this recipe last weekend using a 9X13 inch pan and the convection setting on the oven. I was concerned about the liquidity of the batter (I am a VERY CAREFUL measurer.)but cooked it anyway. It did not raise in the middle. I found another recipe with a little more flour and buttermilk that turned out much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This cake was so easy to put together and absolutely delicious. There wasn't a piece leftover after serving. I followed another user's instructions and used a can of pitted sweet cherries and made a syrup from just a bit of the liquid, some white sugar, and a vanilla liqueur since I didn't have any Kirsch on hand. The cake batter was extremely thin going in to the oven but it baked perfectly and was one of the most moist cakes I've ever baked. I also made homemade whipped cream with a real vanilla bean. Guests could not stop raving about this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was a very easy cake to make, came out moist and delicious, disappeared like lightning. I did not have cherry Liqueur so I substituted Cherry Flavored brandy, worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rfgibbo
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
So very good ! I made cupcakes for a classroom full of 3rd graders for my sons German Culture presentation and they loved it . I'm German and I couldn't believe how good they recipe turn out !! No alcohol !! :-) Fantastic, Thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
A-MAZ-ING!!!!!! So yummy and moist and deelish! Absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This cake recipe is nearly identical to the "Black Magic Cake" which is also listed on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tori45
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee. Decorated it differently but kept everything else the same. This cake is so amazing I have made it 3 times in less than a month! It is so moist. Better than box cake and with ingredients I had in my pantry! I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
i made this cake for my husband's birthday and it was a great success. this was my first tall and layer cake. it came out very well. everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is it! This is the chocolate cake I have been searching for. It's moist, sticky, and spongy. Since I don't have two 8 inch cake pans I used two 9 inch pans and it still baked well at 30 minutes. I love how chocolatey it is. It's intensely chocolate actually. And kudos for the coffee addition, it does good things for the chocolate. This recipe is definitely a winner. My family enjoyed it very much and it didn't last long at all. I already have requests to make another. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States