Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Thanks for this recipe. It made rather a large cake for our small family so I sent some of it to my friends. Everyone who ate it asked for more and wanted the recipe too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Cake was amazingly moist and delicious. May not be fair for me to rate this recipe because we did substitute 1 cup water with vanilla and cocoa in it for coffee since we don't drink coffee. And we didn't use any liquor either. Was absolutely gobbled up!! I also used the topping idea from Black Forest Cake I recipe. Yu-uhm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
BEST chocolate cake EVER! I used applesauce instead of oil and sour cream instead of vinegar and milk, it came out fabulous! I topped with a cool whip frosting which I mixed a box of cheesecake pudding....YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMandyinVT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was amazing! I had to change it a little bit though, I took out the coffee and just added water (we don't drink/eat coffee in any form) and even w/o the coffee it tasted amazing. It was so moist too. Definitely a favorite we will use over and over. Instead of using canned pie filling I whipped up some cream and added cherry extract to it and added maraschino cherries. Then used whipped cream as the outside frosting. Chocolate ganache drizzled on the side and topped with more cherries. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This chocolate cake is my go-to recipe! Awesome cake, moist and EASY! I have made both with and without the alcohol and we prefer it without. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this for Easter. EVERYONE LOVED THIS CAKE!!!!! It was so moist, so delicious, OMG!!! For cupcakes bake 20 minutes! I didn't have soured cheeries for another recipe, so I used this one instead. But I decorated it like the other one, layers and all. This was so good! I put the filling (from the other recipe) inside what I thought was thick, but once the cake was cut the next day, I think it actually absorbed into the cake, so next time, I will put more filling. Just a little more. But it was delicious!!!!! It was gone! I made a carrot cake too and there was a delicious Birthday cake there. This cake was the first to go! So good. I didn't have cherry liquer, I just realized it asked for it! Oh well, it was still delicious without it and I didn't replace it with anything (another liquid). For the whipping cream (which you didn't really see or taste) I added a capful of vanilla extract and a little more powdered sugar to suite my taste. It tasted good on its own. I wonder if the cake was so moist because it absorbed all of the filling! Update: Made these as cupcakes! Bake for 20 minutes! still delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this cake for my fathers Birthday. It was a huge hit and requested again for Easter. I recommend cooking it alittle longer. My cake was great, but too moist to cut into 4 layers. So I just stacked my two 9" cakes on top of each other with cherries in the middle. I frosted the sides of my cake with chocolate frosting to keep cherry filling in. I then used homemade whipped topping on the edges and cherries on the top in the middle. It looked as good as it tasted. Its even better the next day after sitting in frig over night. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Followed exactly, wonderful chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by forevermcandbc
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Great recipe, I could not find cherry liquor so I used Smirnoff Pear rum and it turned out excellent!!!! YUMMY WILL MAKE AGAIn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by forevermcandbc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing except I left out the cherry filling(didn't have any) & it came out perfect! love this & everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natkar06

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States