Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe! My partner asks me for it often, and my grandbaby calls it "messy cake", because I cover it in whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wow, I've made this cake thre times and it has never failed to please. Fantastic, it almost has the taste of a red velvet. I highly recommend it with cream cheese frosting. I replaced the cherry liquor with raspberry schnapps and it was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Delicious. It was also the first cake I had baked in quite some time, and the recipe was very easy and forgiving. It was gone very quickly; I will definitely be saving the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnMaPie
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Made this into a Portal-style anniversary cake for my bf. Everyone who tried it had nothing but good things to say - three months later, my mother still raves about how delicious it was! The only thing I would change in the future is omit the cherry liqueur - it made the filling a bit too runny and didn't add anything I felt I would miss. Still - a perfectly yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piersonac
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The cake was much loved by all at Thanksgiving. I did not add the liqueur, because I could not find it anywhere, but it was great without it. I also used 2 cans of cherry pie filling because I wanted to drizzle some on top. I used a homemade whipped cream for my icing. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe is wonderful, easy, quick, moist and not crazy sweet, but nicely! I mixed up cherry pie filling with the liquid of Maraschino's cherry and a spoon of vodka, because didn't find cherry liqueur, it came out great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I had the same problem as Jay-Nut with the 2 8"rounds overflowing in the oven but don't live at high altitudes. I had a funny feeling when the pans were 3/4 full that it wasn't right, but doublechecked the recipe and my pan size. Mine are the traditional 8" pan, not the deeper ones. Will try 9" pans next time. Everyone raves, so worth trying again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Sporadic Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This cake tasted fabulous! One of the best tasting black forest cake recipes! Note: the coffee needs to be a dark roast and strong to taste it in the cake; used dark chocolate AND regular unsweetened cocoa powder (1/2 cup of the dark and 1/4 cup of the regular cocoa powder). Also, I live at a high altitude and had trouble with the center of the cakes falling and baking time was about 10 minutes longer. Need suggestions about baking cakes from scratch at high altitudes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Excellent chocolate cake. I received rave reviews about how moist it was. Rich and flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States