Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Moist, delicious and absolutely the BEST cake I have ever made! I made it for Valentine's Day this year and felt the love come back to me in abundance for this one! lol. Piped the edges with the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting (also from this site). Spectacular! Yes, it is NOT health food, but c'mon, it's also NOT everyday food. ;) Thank You Jenny! :) Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Incredibly moist and delicious! Made this cake for my mate's birthday and she absolutely loved it! Will be using this recipe again in the very new future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Just made this cake and although I'm pretty confident it's going to taste great, it didn't rise nearly as much as I thought it would - there's no way I could cut the cakes in half! I followed the recipe as closely as possible, so if anyone could offer some tips on where I may have gone wrong, I'd really appreciate it. Black Forest Cake is my Dad's favourite and I'd love to make a perfect one for his birthday! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great recipe. I did not use the liqueur though. Instead, I bought the canned cherry filling washed off the liquid in it and mixed the chopped cherries with some of the whipped cream and layered the cake with it after drizzling with the cherry syrup. then topped with whipped cream. It was a super hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Good recipe, however, the batter is very thin. When I tried it with a spring form cake pan, it leaked and made a huge mess. I guess you should just stick with the regular cake pans when making this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Very moist and delicious cake. I split each layer in 2 and used double the filling. I would make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I made this cake for my 1 yr anniversary in September and it was the best tasting cake I've ever had! Making it again for New Years Eve. Last time I used cherry pie filling and this time I'm using raspberry. Going to ice the cake with cream cheese icing like last time. It's delicious with the cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Everyone loves this recipe! My partner asks me for it often, and my grandbaby calls it "messy cake", because I cover it in whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Wow, I've made this cake thre times and it has never failed to please. Fantastic, it almost has the taste of a red velvet. I highly recommend it with cream cheese frosting. I replaced the cherry liquor with raspberry schnapps and it was AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States