Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is hands down the best, most moist chocolate cake I have ever tasted. We've used it for birthday cakes or any occasion. The cherries are heavenly. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made this cake for my daughter but changed the icing for her, she wanted chocolate. It came out wonderful. The cake itself is so yummy! Can't say enough good things about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this 3 times this summer. Recipe doubles & even triples well. If you run out of cocoa you can (as I did) substitute 150g melted dark chocolate whisked in at the same time as the sour milk. The result is more compact but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The best cake. Easy to make and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
My pans overflowed during baking, scorching the oven. A waste of expensive ingredients! I followed the recipe exactly. I used two 8" pans as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This cake was very moist and tasty!!! I didn't have cherry liqeur so I used a 1/2 tsp of almond extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Very,very good cake the filling I made diferently but the cake just as is and perfect!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
I'm not sure I would make this cake again, unless I use unsweetened chocolate, versus cocoa, more/stronger coffee (perhaps espresso), or etc., to give this cake a darker flavor. I suppose I had expected a darker chocolate flavor, given the title "Black" and I have come to appreciate 86% (or higher) cacao, so that's what I was hoping for, but didn't get to my satisfaction. Then again, I think any chocolate lover would like this cake, to a degree. The ingredients are the same as the recipe for Black Magic cake, except that this calls for less salt and making sour milk versus using buttermilk, that may make a difference. This is also the same recipe as The Barefoot Contessa's "Beatty's Cake", except that hers calls for a buttercream frosting versus cherry filling/liquer. I used the cherry topping but bought a 'No Sugar Added, with Splenda' version and the Splenda gave the topping such a sickeningly sweet taste I couldn't stand to use all of it. So don't even try it! I opted to go with 'The Contessa's' directions to use hot vs cold coffee and feel that that was a mistake; on one hand, the hot temperature might have helped make a better syrup out of the cocoa, but it is probably what gave the cake more of a 'scrambled egg' texture, with the coffee not being tempered (I did add the coffee in gradually, but also took "hot" to mean "hot"); I do think using COLD coffee, as this recipe indicates, is a better idea. Overall, I'm glad I gave this a try, but may not do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Made this cake almost sugar-free with sugar free cherry pie filling, & lower in fat with egg whites. It was fantastic. Much better than a sugar-free box cake. I used 1/2 splenda, 1/2 sugar, 3 whites whipped and folded in, but also used the 1/2 cup veg oil. Next time I will try adding applesauce instead of the veg oil and see how that changes the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
amazing! Its my first time making a cake from scratch and it was a huge hit! Very easy to make with delicious results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States