Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by misheclark
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I used the cake portion of this recipe and it was perfect. It was really chocolatey, moist, and not too dense. I didn't use this filling recipe. I put cherries and whipped cream between the layers and frosted with a chocolate ganache frosting. I decorated the top of the cake with more cherries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmellyPrawn
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Thank you for this amazing recipe. I'd never made a cake from scratch before and this turned out perfectly!! It was seriously one of the most delicious cakes I've ever had. I didn't use the cherry liqueur, just used plain cherry pie filling. I was in a hurry when I made it so I didn't try to make it look pretty but it didn't even matter because it tasted so good, everyone loved it! I also used real buttermilk instead of making sour milk. And I made whipped cream to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made it with raspberries, as that's what I had on hand, for a work treat and the whole department begged for the recipe. Very rich, gooey chocolate cake. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PW
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this recipe without any changes and it was absolutely phenomenal! Very moist and delicious! This is definitely one of the cakes I'll be making for my wedding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sinlychea
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this for my NYE party, followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great! My family and guests were raving about it ! The cake is super rich, moist and dense and not too sweet!! Which is exactly how we like it! The sweetness and lightness of the cherry filling and whip cream complements the cake perfectly! Will definetly keep in my recipe box and make again !! 5**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinlychea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I love this recipe! It is not like other black forest cake recipes: no icing, no whipped cream. It is dark and rich and full of the smell of Kirschwasser! Very adult. You can always add ice cream or whipped cream on the side for those who want more sugar, but I think it is just great as is. A side note, I think the batter was kind of runny and so the cake was not quite done in the middle. Next time I am going to cut back on the coffee, maybe 1/4 to 1/2 c. less. But I don't think it hurt a thing in the long run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PEPRCHLI
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Everyone loved this cake ! Very good recipe but I did make some changes. Used Buttermilk instead of the sour milk. Used 1 cup plus 1 tablespoon. Also used Cherry pie filling mixed with 1/4 cup Ki. For filling . I used Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting recipe for frosting the sides of the cake. I filled the cake with the whipped cream but also put a little Kir. And some Almond extract for a light cherry flavor. Loaded up the remaining cream and cherry filling on top and piped some cream around edges and tossed a little shaved chocolate on it. Beautiful and delicious!! From start to finish it took me about 3 hrs and 15 mins but worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
OMG this is the best freaking chocolate cake I've ever eaten. Yeah, the batter is a little runny, but it makes for the most moist cake you'll ever shove in your face. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
The taste of this cake is awesome! However, I live at high altitude and needed to add an extra egg, extra flour, little extra milk. Then placed entire batter into 8 inch cake pans. Thank goodness placed them on a cookie sheet. When I checked after about 20 minutes batter was bubbling out all over! Once it was done and out of the oven I got to taste it and it's delicious if a little unconventional looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I Had followed every single step from this recipe and video as well.. except I add 3 table spoon of dark rum inside the cake batter and half cup.of rum into cherry fillings...doesn't look like the video.. moist cake... mine look like hard like a rock chocolate rum cake.. . took me 2 hours to make that cake plus spent another hour to make fresh chocolate whipped cream and cherries to decorated the topping..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States