Jenny's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Emma
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Great Recipe. I did not change a thing. It came out super moist and was a big hit with friends. I topped mine with homemade whipped cream, shaved chocolate and maraschino cherries . If I make it again I will probably be a bit more adventurous and make my own cherry filling. However, it was still very yummy with the canned filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this as a birthday cake. It was great!!!! I used a chocolate ganache for the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
FABULOUS! this recipe deserves its 5-stars! i will use this recipe also when i'm wanting just a simple chocolate cake. the cake was dense, moist and delicious! thanks for a great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was only having a couple of friends over, so I baked it in a loaf pan (half of the recipe) and the other half as cupcakes. Also I only used 1/2 C of instant coffee (the only thing I had in hand) and didn't use the liqueur... just whipped cream and cherry pie filling. Wow! My friends were impressed. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kulsum khalid
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is the best black forest recipe i have ever tried testes and tasted it is superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This cake came out wonderfully! So moist and great taste. For the filling I made the chocolate cream cheese coconut frosting, and on the outside, I mixed whipped topping with 1/2 cup confectioners sugar, and 1/4 cup unsweetened chocolate power, I think next time I will make this into cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I made this for a friend's birthday party that was held at our local pool hall. I didn't have any myself (because I added the Kirsch) but the cake was visually stunning. Acquaintances who were also at the pool hall approached our table and asked me for a piece of cake! I iced the cake with real whipped cream, chocolate fudge pudding, and the cherry mixture. (I also put the pudding on each of the layers-I had 4) I got rave reviews and people couldn't believe it was my first time making black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Good cake. I only made 1/2 the recipe and cooked them in smaller loaf pans because there was only 4 people to feed -way more than enough. Worked great as a log shaped cake- ended up being four layers. I skipped the brandy, but forgot to add the extra liquid in lieu. The cake should have been a little more moist. I will make sure to add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this cake for my sister's annual christmas party and everyone loved it so much I made it twice more during the holidays!! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yasmeen shaik
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This cake taste store bought!!!! it's moist, flavorful, and not overly sweet.yes i made this for my birthday, because i couldn't decide what i wanted, so glad i made this!!! we made fresh whip cream, and cherry preserve. we made it six layers. I made the recipe for 15 people but didn't add a cup of coffee just 1/4 cup. no cherry liquor either. Thank you for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 101-110 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States