Jenn's Out Of This World Spaghetti and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
my rating is sauce only as i didn't make the meatballs either time - but i did split the batch following exactly, and following my instincts. i do agree with other posters who reduced the tomato paste, and consequently the sugar. i used a 30oz can crushed tomato, a squirt from concentrated paste in a tube, and a 15oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes (i then put a stick blender in to get rid of all tomato/onion/garlic chunks which DH doesn't like) because i used my last can of sauce on the 'to a T' version. i used 2T sugar and added approx 1.5 cans water to taste. Here is the kicker: the next time I made it I started off with a HOT salted cast iron dutch oven. i quickly browned 1 lb stew beef. remove the beef, cool the pan, then proceed with the sauce recipe, pulling up the brown bits. add the meat back in to simmer. HOLY COW that is perfect with this sauce! I think fresh oregano is the key. I also used a tiny bit of fresh rosemary and added ground black pepper. awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was so yummy. Followed recommended modifications from reviewer yoshiyum. (sort reviewers by most helpful and they come up first). I loved the idea that the meatballs cooked right in the sauce and no need to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Really good meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
way too sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Best I have ever had!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Fantastic recipe and very easy to follow. Your friends and family will think you slaved all day in the kitchen making this dish. I also took the leftover sauce and meatballs and used them on rolls for a perfect meatball sandwhich. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Good basic recipe. I was afraid 1/2 cup of sugar would make the sauce too sweet, so I started with 1/4 cup, but ended up adding another 1/4 cup of sugar. I added fresh basil just before serving. Instead of just ground beef in the meatballs, I used a combination of ground beef, mild and hot Italian sausage to give the meatballs more zip. Overall, this is a good recipe, but a bit one dimensional in flavor. I suggest you add your favorite seasonings to this recipe as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My family loves this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This is the most amazing/ mouth watering spaghetti I have ever had. My boyfriend made it for me last week and changed nothing. He doesn't cook often and it was AMAZING. Ate my entire plate at least 3 servings soooo good you must try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
easy and absolutley delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Chicken Meatballs and Spaghetti

What's cooking in Chicago? Kim's healthy chicken meatballs and spaghetti.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States