Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I thought this was not good at all. I had never made granola before, so I wasn't really sure what to do. But the cook time was WAY TOO long,the water diluted it way too much. I remade with the following Changes: I highly recommend toasting the wheat germ, I only used almonds, no salt as it is not needed, no vanilla, I used 2 TLBS dark brown sugar, half the oats, apple sauce in place of oil, 100% maple syrup 1/3 cup (not pancake stuff) mixed with apple sauce and a touch of honey. NO WATER!!! And OMG was this awesome. Oh and I addded some dried fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
First time making this recipe (or any homemade granola), but I will definitely be making it again. I made a couple of substitutions: coconut oil for the canola oil, and agave nectar for the brown sugar (reduce quantity of agave nectar to 1/4 cup and also reduce water to 1/4 cup). I also added 1/3 cup coconut flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
so yummy! WAY better than the granola i buy in the stores!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Really like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This is really good. I left out the brown sugar and sunflower seeds because I didn't have any. I used maple syrup instead of honey and put in a little extra since I didn't have the brown sugar. I also used applesauce instead of oil. Delicious, thanks for sharing such a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Wonderful recipe! The original recipe is perfect, but I made some changes to fit our lifestyle. Including trying to reduce the amount of sweet in our diet. I decreased the brown sugar to 1/4 cup , used pumpkin instead of sunflower seeds, used chia seeds instead of flax and used a full cup of almonds because my kids don't like pecans. I have made it with honey, maple syrup and also a cherry syrup (natural) and it always turns out fabulous!! You can dehydrate it (140 degrees), if you are into RAW food. It takes about 4 hours, but is still wonderful. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The best granola recipe I have found. I've made it several times, keeping in mind that you can add just about anything as long as the dry and wet amounts don't change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I found that it overcooked following her directions for cooking. Next time I am going to turn the temp down to 200 degrees F and see how that works. Easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Severin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deet31483
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
The texture is fabulous. This stuff actually clumps, unlike a lot of other granola recipes, but it lacks flavor. I added some dried cranberries, but next time I will add more cinnamon and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deet31483

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I hesitate to write a review because I changed the recipe to make it less fat/refined sugar free. I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead of the oil, and I used honey instead of brown sugar. I recommend making it the way its written, however, I would double the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States