Jennifer's Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I haven't made granola for many years but recently have been eating more nuts & seeds so thought I'd try making some. The proportions of things is great.Because I'm a mild diabetic I used mostly sugar free syrup with just a tablespoon or two of real maple syrup. I also left out the brown sugar & cinnamon and no salt. I was concerned that with little real sugar in it that it wouldn't caramelize but it's wonderful. Top with some Greek Yogurt and you have a great start to any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Very appley not a huge fane of apple flavoring just thought it was a substitute for oil but not this time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
so crunchy and good! not too sweet - never buying expensive boxed surgary granola again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this as written and it was chewy, not crunchy. Disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I added 6 fresh chopped dates to the dry ingredients. Also instead of wheat germ, I added 1/2 cup of raw pumpkin seeds, 1/4 cup chia seeds and 1/4 cup buckwheat groats. Instead of 1/2 cup water I added 1/2 cup Organic Blue Agave and 1/4 cup of water. I also increased the cinnamon to 1 tbls. Oh, also add 1/2 cup of coconut. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi MacDonald

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Loved it! Wasn't too sweet, but the kids still really enjoyed it!! I ran out of flax seed, so I added chia seeds instead. I left them whole and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Just made this granola and it is pretty darn tasty! I substituted unsweetened applesauce for the oil and omitted the salt. After it cooled I tossed in a cup of dried cranberries and a cup of peanut butter chips. The hour to cook was fine. I will definitely make this again and probably do a double batch. *UPDATE* I made a couple of tweaks: Increased the honey to 1/2 a cup and tossed it every 15 min. since it was a little burnt on the first batch. This recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was my first time making granola and it turned out pretty good. I cut down on the salt a little just because I used salted sunflower seeds, and I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ because it was what I had on hand. The flavor was good, but next time I will probably make more of the liquid mixture to try to get it to clump better. It was very crumbly, but maybe homemade granola is supposed to be that way. I have nothing to compare it to, so I'm just going to play around until it gets to a texture that I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
this is the best I've had. I only had coconut oil so i used it. I added more nut. I can't be with out this. It lasted for 1 month in glass sealed container. TY Jen :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Deliceous! The only thing I omitted was the wheat germ since I didn't have any. I think next time I will try leaving it in for 5 minutes longer to see if I can't get it a little crunchier although it is addicting just as is. Thanks for a great recipe! I am already excited to make this and give it away for Christmas presants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States