Jennifer's Burgundy Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was very good. Simple, heartwarming, delicious. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Unbelievable – I forgot to add the garlic AND the onion (busy day today) and Hubs and I agreed it was still “D” good! I’m sure this would have been even better with those additions but quite honestly, I don’t see how! Other than using fresh herbs rather than dried (the fresh equivalent is 3:1 and I substituted oregano for the marjoram) and forgetting the onion and garlic I followed the recipe as written and it was simple perfection. Rich, savory, flavorful, neither too thin nor too thick. We cleaned up every bit of this and Hubs has requested a repeat soon. The only thing I’ll do differently next time is to be sure to follow the recipe more closely and not forget the onion and the garlic. I’m sure it will take this “A” recipe to “A+.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Just made it tonight!!! totally loved it!!! thanks....added 1/8th of cornstarch to barely thicken it. And finished the rest of the bottle of wine, the second best part!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
absolutely fantastic stew. one look at the ingredients and i was sold. if i would've ordered this from a nice restaurant i would've been pleased. a very mature, subtle and savory recipe. this one's going back into the rotation for sure! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really good stew. Next time I will add a couple of beef bouillon cubes to make the flavor richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and it's delicious! I used cabernet and it was great! I also added the mushrooms with the meat (earlier than the rest of the veggies) so they could soak in the wine a bit longer. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was terrific! Such a classic comfort recipe. I let it simmer for quite a while to make sure the onion was soft and let the flavors sink into the mushrooms. The consistency was perfect, and the smell filled the whole house! I might add a bay leaf next time, but otherwise no changes. This is definitely going into the regular winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I sautéed half the onion and two cloves of garlic with the meat. Then, added more garlic and the rest of the onion at the end like the recipe suggests. Otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter. It was very simple and tasty. Even my finicky 13 year old ate it... and that's saying something! I didn't have any trouble with the thickness. I don't like watery stew, this was just thick enough, kind of the consistency of gravy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephoney
Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Tried this today and it was delicious - even if I did have to substitute a Merlot for the Burgundy (only red wine I had on hand). The long simmer just helped the wine flavor make the gravy rich, without any alcohol taste left behind. Next time I might add a little less liquid, because I prefer a slightly thicker gravy, but that's the only change I'd make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I was a bit hesitant to try this because I don't like the taste of wines in stews...weird, I know-lol! But I gave it a shot anyway, and I'm so glad I did. It was pretty good the first day, it was even better the second day. By the third day, it really was heavenly. It didn't last longer than that, as we were each trying to get the last bowl without the other noticing. I doubled the recipe, which is why it lasted so long. I tried to follow the recipe as close as possible. I couldn't find low sodium beef broth, so I used regular. I also only used half the amount of mushrooms. I cut the meat slightly smaller than is in most stews, to spread it out a bit more. I can't say how well it freezes. That was my intention when I doubled the recipe. Unfortunately, it was just too good to stop eating. I'll be making it again this afternoon. Can't wait! EDITED TO ADD...it took much longer than the suggested cooking time. I added in the carrots after cooking the meat and broth for 30 minutes. I added the remaining ingredients and spices after cooking for the suggested cooking time of 1hour. Then cooked another 40 or so minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States