Jennifer's Burgundy Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I sautéed half the onion and two cloves of garlic with the meat. Then, added more garlic and the rest of the onion at the end like the recipe suggests. Otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter. It was very simple and tasty. Even my finicky 13 year old ate it... and that's saying something! I didn't have any trouble with the thickness. I don't like watery stew, this was just thick enough, kind of the consistency of gravy. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephoney
Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Unbelievable – I forgot to add the garlic AND the onion (busy day today) and Hubs and I agreed it was still “D” good! I’m sure this would have been even better with those additions but quite honestly, I don’t see how! Other than using fresh herbs rather than dried (the fresh equivalent is 3:1 and I substituted oregano for the marjoram) and forgetting the onion and garlic I followed the recipe as written and it was simple perfection. Rich, savory, flavorful, neither too thin nor too thick. We cleaned up every bit of this and Hubs has requested a repeat soon. The only thing I’ll do differently next time is to be sure to follow the recipe more closely and not forget the onion and the garlic. I’m sure it will take this “A” recipe to “A+.”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I was a bit hesitant to try this because I don't like the taste of wines in stews...weird, I know-lol! But I gave it a shot anyway, and I'm so glad I did. It was pretty good the first day, it was even better the second day. By the third day, it really was heavenly. It didn't last longer than that, as we were each trying to get the last bowl without the other noticing. I doubled the recipe, which is why it lasted so long. I tried to follow the recipe as close as possible. I couldn't find low sodium beef broth, so I used regular. I also only used half the amount of mushrooms. I cut the meat slightly smaller than is in most stews, to spread it out a bit more. I can't say how well it freezes. That was my intention when I doubled the recipe. Unfortunately, it was just too good to stop eating. I'll be making it again this afternoon. Can't wait! EDITED TO ADD...it took much longer than the suggested cooking time. I added in the carrots after cooking the meat and broth for 30 minutes. I added the remaining ingredients and spices after cooking for the suggested cooking time of 1hour. Then cooked another 40 or so minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
absolutely fantastic stew. one look at the ingredients and i was sold. if i would've ordered this from a nice restaurant i would've been pleased. a very mature, subtle and savory recipe. this one's going back into the rotation for sure! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I was very anxious to try this recipe after reading the other reviews and loved the thought of a nice stew on this cool fall day. Unfortunately, we felt this "stew" lacked flavor and thickness. I added a bunch of salt and flour to get it. I doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Followed this recipe exactly and it's delicious! I used cabernet and it was great! I also added the mushrooms with the meat (earlier than the rest of the veggies) so they could soak in the wine a bit longer. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Really good stew. Next time I will add a couple of beef bouillon cubes to make the flavor richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Just made it tonight!!! totally loved it!!! thanks....added 1/8th of cornstarch to barely thicken it. And finished the rest of the bottle of wine, the second best part!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was very good. Simple, heartwarming, delicious. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States