Jennifer's Burgundy Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Absolutely fantastic! I used tri tip steak strips cut into small chunks and marinated the meat for a couple hours prior to cooking. I also added 4 stalks of celery and a dash of cayenne pepper. Best stew we have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was good all on its own ... but the second time I added some low-sodium beef gravy mix to help thicken it up and add a little more flavor. Also a couple ok maybe a few more splashes of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beallboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is outstanding just the way it is! The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Followed the recipe, with the exceptions of using merlot instead of burgundy and using fresh thyme instead of dried. The meat needed about one and one-half hours to become tender though, so be sure to allow some extra time because of this. This was a satisfying dinner on a very cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Wowzers this was good! Made this exactly as written, except I skipped the marjoram because I didn't have any. I added a little rosemary to make up for it. It thickened up perfectly, and was nice and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Tried this today and it was delicious - even if I did have to substitute a Merlot for the Burgundy (only red wine I had on hand). The long simmer just helped the wine flavor make the gravy rich, without any alcohol taste left behind. Next time I might add a little less liquid, because I prefer a slightly thicker gravy, but that's the only change I'd make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Nice texture and I liked the addition of mushrooms with the Burgundy wine; however, the finished product was still rather bland. My kids liked it, but hubby thought it was only edible. The search for a good beef stew will continue for me (it is my Achilles heel)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious!! I served it over egg noddles. I don't usually like stews but this was amazing! My super picky husband even had 3 servings! I need to add a little more of both liquids toward the end but I think that is because I added too many mushrooms and they absorbed a lot of liquid. I will add more carrots next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Good flavor. A thick stew that wasn't very attractive in colour the next day (grey), but still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gurl_cbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was terrific! Such a classic comfort recipe. I let it simmer for quite a while to make sure the onion was soft and let the flavors sink into the mushrooms. The consistency was perfect, and the smell filled the whole house! I might add a bay leaf next time, but otherwise no changes. This is definitely going into the regular winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew IV

See how to make a classic wine-based stew in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States