Jelly Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
it was great , quick and easy for unsuspected company !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I doubled the recipe since I have a bigger tray/sheet. It broke a little when I rolled it, but no major issues. I added cream cheese mixture and then the jam. Looks fantastic! My husband asked me if this was for work and I said no. It is for us. He gave me a big smile. I topped it with cherries. Yummy. Just like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I thought maybe it was me just having an off day baking, but after trying again, this just isn't working. The cake just does not bake well. It tears, and cracks, if it comes out of the pan in one piece that is. I will be going back to my original recipe. The flavor was not so bad, but not good for a jelly roll. I actually took the pieces and made a trifle with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is fine after reading other reviews i was worried, but this is easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
this cake is dry and crumbly. I am an experienced cook who has made several cake rolls; I did not think there were enough ingredients in the recipe. This did not begin to fill my cake pan of 10" by 15" Should have stopped right there! I wish I would have read the reviews first, but this is the first recipe from this website that has not worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe is so delicious with the cream cheese & icing sugar filling with my homemade strawberry freezer jam. Instead of vanilla, I used almond flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabin cat
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly w/o the 2% milk, whole. It turned out perfectly. The jam in my photo is homemade Elderberry jam, made by my son & daughter-in-law. One hint: if you use the cream cheese filling, you might want to reduce the amount of jam. The cream cheese prevents the jam from sticking to the cake and the excess oozes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've been making jelly rolls for a while and this recipe is the best one. Easy fast and looks and tastes amazing!!!! Just watch the jelly roll carefully as it bakes, one minute extra and its too dry and will crack. I find it a bit sweet so I use less sugar and dust my towel with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe is perfect. If you have problems with breaking there are a few things you need to check or be aware of: 1. Using cake flour or a low gluten flour is best. If this is not available, add corn starch (1/3 corn starch to 2/3 flour). High gluten flour is good for breads and pizza dough, not jelly rolls. 2. Be sure you are not OVERBAKING the cake, this will dry it out and cause it to break. Try the lower end of the baking time first. Overbaking is the most common issue. 3. Roll the cake while still warm, if you wait too long after removing it from the oven it will break. If you do experience breaking while rolling, do not throw away your cake, cut it into petite fours and fill them as normal. You can salvage what you have and make it useable and still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States