Jelly Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I thought maybe it was me just having an off day baking, but after trying again, this just isn't working. The cake just does not bake well. It tears, and cracks, if it comes out of the pan in one piece that is. I will be going back to my original recipe. The flavor was not so bad, but not good for a jelly roll. I actually took the pieces and made a trifle with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This recipe is fine after reading other reviews i was worried, but this is easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
this cake is dry and crumbly. I am an experienced cook who has made several cake rolls; I did not think there were enough ingredients in the recipe. This did not begin to fill my cake pan of 10" by 15" Should have stopped right there! I wish I would have read the reviews first, but this is the first recipe from this website that has not worked for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This recipe is so delicious with the cream cheese & icing sugar filling with my homemade strawberry freezer jam. Instead of vanilla, I used almond flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Way too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabin cat
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly w/o the 2% milk, whole. It turned out perfectly. The jam in my photo is homemade Elderberry jam, made by my son & daughter-in-law. One hint: if you use the cream cheese filling, you might want to reduce the amount of jam. The cream cheese prevents the jam from sticking to the cake and the excess oozes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've been making jelly rolls for a while and this recipe is the best one. Easy fast and looks and tastes amazing!!!! Just watch the jelly roll carefully as it bakes, one minute extra and its too dry and will crack. I find it a bit sweet so I use less sugar and dust my towel with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe is perfect. If you have problems with breaking there are a few things you need to check or be aware of: 1. Using cake flour or a low gluten flour is best. If this is not available, add corn starch (1/3 corn starch to 2/3 flour). High gluten flour is good for breads and pizza dough, not jelly rolls. 2. Be sure you are not OVERBAKING the cake, this will dry it out and cause it to break. Try the lower end of the baking time first. Overbaking is the most common issue. 3. Roll the cake while still warm, if you wait too long after removing it from the oven it will break. If you do experience breaking while rolling, do not throw away your cake, cut it into petite fours and fill them as normal. You can salvage what you have and make it useable and still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
this was my first time making a jelly roll. This recipe was so easy ad eveyone loved it. I will make this again many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The roll is yummy, perhaps milk would be a better substitute for water. and make sure not to OVER cook the cake, not even a few minutes longer... you'll get a not so fluffy, spongey taste. I wish there was an EASIER way to keep the roll, rolled! :o) perhaps even sticking toothpicks in it to hold it in place until slicing it onto someone's lucky plate ?? :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fefalovesyou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Pumpkin Roll II

This cake is dense, moist, and rich with pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States