Jelly Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I added an extra 1.5 tablespoons of milk. It turned out really well, very happy with it. Next time ill add the cream inside with the jam, i think the jam on its own just wasnt complete, but still taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena Sahs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Ladies: All ovens bake differently, it is not the recipe-it is the oven. I stress to my daughter all the time the importance of baking exactly what the recipe calls for. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hastings, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Couldn't even get the parchment paper pulled off. I have made jelly rolls before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
HMMMMM IV ALWAYS BEEN AFRAID TO MAKE A JELLY ROLL CAKE! AND NOW I KNOW WHY!! LOL I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS TO A T! AND I DIDNT OVER BAKE IT! EVERYTHING WAS GOING FINE UNTIL I UNWRAPPED IT AFTER COOLING.DISASTER!! STUCK TO MY TOWEL AFTER COATING IT WITH THE POWDERED SUGAR STARTED CRACKING I SALVAGED IT! I MADE A CREAMCHEESE FILLING WITH BLUEBERRYS INSTEAD OF JAM. TASTE WISE ITS VERY GOOD! A BIT DRY THOUGH BUT I DO THINK I WILL TRY AND FIND A DIFFERENT RECIPE! BUT IM GLAD I FACED MY FEAR...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was my first attempt at a jelly roll cake and it was a success! My husband went in for a second piece. There was a tiny bit of cracking, but I was able to work with it. This recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
tHIS CAKE IS VERY EASY TO MAKE. i HAVE MADE IT MANY TIMES. iF IT BREAKS, PRESS IT TOGETHER. i USUALLY USE ICE CREAM AND THEN FREEZE IT. i WORKS OUT FINE, IN THE END IF YOU DON'T OVERBAKE IT AND IF IT BREAKS, USE SOME COMMON SENSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I have tried so many recipes for what we call swiss rolls (same as a jelly roll), but they are usually eggy and bland. I overcooked mine a little, so no fault of the recipe. I used a combination of whipped cream and caramel as the filling to duplicate the swiss roll made by a local deli and it was bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I was very disappointed with this reipe. I followed this recipe to the letter and it did not turn out. When un-rolling it cracked so bad it could not be used. I gave it 2 stars for a great taste. All the jelly roll stye cakes I've use in the past require seperating the eggs and whiping the egg whites. I alway get a light soft fluffy cake from those. Wanted something easier. Guess cutting corners doesn't always work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Yum! Is cake did not last 5 minutes in our house. Instead of plain jam or the cream cheese filling I mixed the strawberry jam into whipped cream and filled it with that. Also instead of powdered sugar I used granulated sugar for the outside. Our taste buds were in heaven!!! On the downside I could not get the cake to not crack. The second time I made it ( the day after the first!) I tried to tip to cook it shorter (8 min) and found it cracked even worse and was a little raw in the middle. Will keep trying-- so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I am not much of a baker but I tried this recipe to be sold at a church fundraiser and took samples and everyone loved it. I followed the directions and every time I have made it, it has come out great! One of my sons friends request it every time I see him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States