Jelly Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I wanted to make a couple comments since I am the one who submitted this recipe and parts were edited out or changed before posting. First, any flavor of jam will do. Use your favorite. I just happen to like homemade strawberry freezer jam. Also, this recipe does NOT require the milk to be 2%. Whole milk is fine. And, for optional added elegence, you can use a creamed mixture of 8 oz cream cheese, (softened) 1 cup confectioner's sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla. Beat until creamy and spread on roll before spreading jam if desired. This creamed part is just a nice added bonus. Sorry, I don't know why this were changed or left out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipe is perfect. If you have problems with breaking there are a few things you need to check or be aware of: 1. Using cake flour or a low gluten flour is best. If this is not available, add corn starch (1/3 corn starch to 2/3 flour). High gluten flour is good for breads and pizza dough, not jelly rolls. 2. Be sure you are not OVERBAKING the cake, this will dry it out and cause it to break. Try the lower end of the baking time first. Overbaking is the most common issue. 3. Roll the cake while still warm, if you wait too long after removing it from the oven it will break. If you do experience breaking while rolling, do not throw away your cake, cut it into petite fours and fill them as normal. You can salvage what you have and make it useable and still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Dutch Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I am an expert at making other cake rolls - I followed this recipe exactly and it was a very dry crumbled mess. I can't recomend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsm103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
The cake did not turn out well for me and I have made many jelly rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This recipe is AWFUL! It was dry and cracked every time. I actually tried it 3 times, determined to get the recipe to work. Finally after an 1 1/2 hours and a huge waste of supplies I pulled out my Betty Crocker cook book and snap I took a perfect Jelly roll out of my oven 20 min later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
My husband asked me for a jelly roll out of the blue and though I love to cook I feared it was going to be a challange but this recipe is fool proof and the jelly roll turned out great. I added the cream cheese recipe and it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
EXCELLENT! This was my first time making a jelly roll. I followed the recipe exactly as written including the times alloted. It turned out perfect! Thank you Barb Maxwell, not only for the recipe but for your review telling about the cream cheese mixture as an added bonus. It was a real hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This recipe turned out perfectly! I have a hard time making jelly rolls without them cracking or breaking, but this recipe provided just the right "sponginess", so it didn't break when rolling. I let the cake cool for a few minutes before I attempted to roll it the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
I really was hoping for a better result. I even tried it a second time when the first one didn't turn out. However, I only baked for 8 min. and followed the recipe EXACTLY and when I unrolled it to put the jelly on, the cake cracked and fell apart. The cake itself did had a good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I doubled the recipe since I have a bigger tray/sheet. It broke a little when I rolled it, but no major issues. I added cream cheese mixture and then the jam. Looks fantastic! My husband asked me if this was for work and I said no. It is for us. He gave me a big smile. I topped it with cherries. Yummy. Just like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States