Jelly Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Ladies: All ovens bake differently, it is not the recipe-it is the oven. I stress to my daughter all the time the importance of baking exactly what the recipe calls for. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hastings, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Couldn't even get the parchment paper pulled off. I have made jelly rolls before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
HMMMMM IV ALWAYS BEEN AFRAID TO MAKE A JELLY ROLL CAKE! AND NOW I KNOW WHY!! LOL I FOLLOWED THE DIRECTIONS TO A T! AND I DIDNT OVER BAKE IT! EVERYTHING WAS GOING FINE UNTIL I UNWRAPPED IT AFTER COOLING.DISASTER!! STUCK TO MY TOWEL AFTER COATING IT WITH THE POWDERED SUGAR STARTED CRACKING I SALVAGED IT! I MADE A CREAMCHEESE FILLING WITH BLUEBERRYS INSTEAD OF JAM. TASTE WISE ITS VERY GOOD! A BIT DRY THOUGH BUT I DO THINK I WILL TRY AND FIND A DIFFERENT RECIPE! BUT IM GLAD I FACED MY FEAR...LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This was my first attempt at a jelly roll cake and it was a success! My husband went in for a second piece. There was a tiny bit of cracking, but I was able to work with it. This recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
tHIS CAKE IS VERY EASY TO MAKE. i HAVE MADE IT MANY TIMES. iF IT BREAKS, PRESS IT TOGETHER. i USUALLY USE ICE CREAM AND THEN FREEZE IT. i WORKS OUT FINE, IN THE END IF YOU DON'T OVERBAKE IT AND IF IT BREAKS, USE SOME COMMON SENSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I have tried so many recipes for what we call swiss rolls (same as a jelly roll), but they are usually eggy and bland. I overcooked mine a little, so no fault of the recipe. I used a combination of whipped cream and caramel as the filling to duplicate the swiss roll made by a local deli and it was bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I was very disappointed with this reipe. I followed this recipe to the letter and it did not turn out. When un-rolling it cracked so bad it could not be used. I gave it 2 stars for a great taste. All the jelly roll stye cakes I've use in the past require seperating the eggs and whiping the egg whites. I alway get a light soft fluffy cake from those. Wanted something easier. Guess cutting corners doesn't always work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Yum! Is cake did not last 5 minutes in our house. Instead of plain jam or the cream cheese filling I mixed the strawberry jam into whipped cream and filled it with that. Also instead of powdered sugar I used granulated sugar for the outside. Our taste buds were in heaven!!! On the downside I could not get the cake to not crack. The second time I made it ( the day after the first!) I tried to tip to cook it shorter (8 min) and found it cracked even worse and was a little raw in the middle. Will keep trying-- so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I am not much of a baker but I tried this recipe to be sold at a church fundraiser and took samples and everyone loved it. I followed the directions and every time I have made it, it has come out great! One of my sons friends request it every time I see him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
it was great , quick and easy for unsuspected company !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Paleo Jelly Donut Cupcakes

These tasty jelly donut cupcakes are grain-, refined sugar-, and dairy-free.

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States