Jelly Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
lots of work, not sweet enough and pretty messy. I would add more sugar to the dough and cut way back on the nutmeg. 3/4 tsp would be better. This was my first time making this style of doughnut so perhaps with practice i would not be so messy. My 5 kids thought they were delicious but maybe should be sweeter. I used jam and wished I had a can of pastry filling instead on hand. That would have held up better in the doughnut and made less of a mess. So, 4 stars for the recipe and 3 for me LOL -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Good flavor but not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I did everything wrong, and these still came out beautifully. I made them by hand, instead of with a machine. I forgot to mix the yeast and the milk before I mixed everything else, so I added extra water to start up the yeast. I had to add extra flour in order to stop the dough from sticking, and made them too big. We fried them by sight rather than timing them, and used blackberry jam. Some of them we didn't fill at all. We glazed them with Alton Brown's recipe (.25cup milk, 1t vanilla, 2cup powdered sugar) and they were marvelous! These were an after-dinner dessert, and the rest will be breakfast. The centers are a little doughy around the jam, and that's how I like them. Absolutely perfect, and apparently fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
At least as good as commercial ones, but having jumped through the hoops once, it's too much bother to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by annette
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The first time i made donuts.They turned out mouth watering. The only thing i would change is cut the nutmeg in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. I found that you really need to wet the pastry edges to get both pieces to stay together in fryer & not lose jam everywhere but a success first time & will definately make again. Even better is they freeze & can be re-heated in about 30-45 secs each depending on microwave strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
The dough turned out amazingly well, better than bread usually turns out in this machine. Not too sticky (unless I halved the batch) and beautifully seasoned. (I did use cinnamon instead of nutmeg and 2t instant yeast instead of active dry. However, I had a problem when it came to frying them. Perhaps it was just me and the fact that I didn't have a fry thermometer, but whether I made doughnut holes or full on doughnuts, they were still doughy in the middle by the time the outside was done. The jelly ones turned out a little better because we had to stretch the dough out and that made it a little thinner. Like I said, maybe that's because I've never really deep fried anything before. Because the ones that were all the way cooked were WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. I found that you really need to wet the pastry edges to get both pieces to stay together in fryer & not lose jam everywhere but a success first time & will definately make again. Even better is they freeze & can be re-heated in about 30-45 secs each depending on microwave strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffith, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by siewleng
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Made these jelly doughnuts for the first time manually without the use of the bread machine. They turned out beautifully. My kids love them! Next time I make them, I'll dust them with icing sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by siewleng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
The doughnuts were very good. One thing however it needed a glaze after cooking. I sprinkled some sugar on it after cooking them, and my husband, the experienced pastry eater liked them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States