Jelly Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by annette
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
The first time i made donuts.They turned out mouth watering. The only thing i would change is cut the nutmeg in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annette

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Monticello, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
These doughnuts are GREAT & really pretty easy to make! This was my first time making doughnuts and 'yeast' ones are supposed to be harder to make, but by using the dough cycle on my bread machine these were a snap!! I had trouble rolling them out the first time & had to re-roll them which made me worried they would come out tough, but they were fantastic! Just the right amount of crispy on the outside, to chewy on the inside . . . these will become a family tradition!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
We used this for our Channukah Jelly doughnuts, a tradition. What a breeze!!! The kids loved making them after they came out of the machine and eating them even better. The taste was fabulous. I fried them in hot peanut oil. It freed up time do do other holiday things. and We used orange marmalade one day and loquat jelly the next day. Tomorrow, poppy seed or almond cream!! Thank you to the person who submitted this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These doughnuts were great! I had to use jam instead of jelly so it got a little messy, but otherwise I thought that these were perftect. My husband is a HUGE doughnut fan and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. I found that you really need to wet the pastry edges to get both pieces to stay together in fryer & not lose jam everywhere but a success first time & will definately make again. Even better is they freeze & can be re-heated in about 30-45 secs each depending on microwave strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffith, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. I found that you really need to wet the pastry edges to get both pieces to stay together in fryer & not lose jam everywhere but a success first time & will definately make again. Even better is they freeze & can be re-heated in about 30-45 secs each depending on microwave strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I did everything wrong, and these still came out beautifully. I made them by hand, instead of with a machine. I forgot to mix the yeast and the milk before I mixed everything else, so I added extra water to start up the yeast. I had to add extra flour in order to stop the dough from sticking, and made them too big. We fried them by sight rather than timing them, and used blackberry jam. Some of them we didn't fill at all. We glazed them with Alton Brown's recipe (.25cup milk, 1t vanilla, 2cup powdered sugar) and they were marvelous! These were an after-dinner dessert, and the rest will be breakfast. The centers are a little doughy around the jam, and that's how I like them. Absolutely perfect, and apparently fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
awsome the best jelly doughnut I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was the first time I have tried making doughnuts and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Great! I filled them with lemon custard and every one wanted more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Proctor, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States