Jelly Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
These doughnuts are GREAT & really pretty easy to make! This was my first time making doughnuts and 'yeast' ones are supposed to be harder to make, but by using the dough cycle on my bread machine these were a snap!! I had trouble rolling them out the first time & had to re-roll them which made me worried they would come out tough, but they were fantastic! Just the right amount of crispy on the outside, to chewy on the inside . . . these will become a family tradition!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by siewleng
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Made these jelly doughnuts for the first time manually without the use of the bread machine. They turned out beautifully. My kids love them! Next time I make them, I'll dust them with icing sugar. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by siewleng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
We used this for our Channukah Jelly doughnuts, a tradition. What a breeze!!! The kids loved making them after they came out of the machine and eating them even better. The taste was fabulous. I fried them in hot peanut oil. It freed up time do do other holiday things. and We used orange marmalade one day and loquat jelly the next day. Tomorrow, poppy seed or almond cream!! Thank you to the person who submitted this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
soft moist bread with a splash of flavor inside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. I found that you really need to wet the pastry edges to get both pieces to stay together in fryer & not lose jam everywhere but a success first time & will definately make again. Even better is they freeze & can be re-heated in about 30-45 secs each depending on microwave strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffith, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
lots of work, not sweet enough and pretty messy. I would add more sugar to the dough and cut way back on the nutmeg. 3/4 tsp would be better. This was my first time making this style of doughnut so perhaps with practice i would not be so messy. My 5 kids thought they were delicious but maybe should be sweeter. I used jam and wished I had a can of pastry filling instead on hand. That would have held up better in the doughnut and made less of a mess. So, 4 stars for the recipe and 3 for me LOL -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Excellent recipe. I found that you really need to wet the pastry edges to get both pieces to stay together in fryer & not lose jam everywhere but a success first time & will definately make again. Even better is they freeze & can be re-heated in about 30-45 secs each depending on microwave strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lamise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
The doughnuts were very good. One thing however it needed a glaze after cooking. I sprinkled some sugar on it after cooking them, and my husband, the experienced pastry eater liked them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
these were nice but very heavy. next time i will use all purpose flour rather than bread flour to see if it makes it any lighter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
These doughnuts were great! I had to use jam instead of jelly so it got a little messy, but otherwise I thought that these were perftect. My husband is a HUGE doughnut fan and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cthomasgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States