Jeff's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was one of the best sloppy joe recipes I've ever tried. It has a great zesty flavor. It is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I have been making Jeff's Joes for a few years and love them! I am the kind of cook who tries a new recipe every time, but not for sloppy joes. I love the extra kick from the chili sauce and my kids gobble the down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Tangy. Different. My son and DH loved these. I didn't have Italian sausage so I used another half lb. of ground chuck. I let this simmer for about forty minutes. My guys loved this, I didn't as much. They were okay, just not my personal taste. I don't care much for chili sauce flavor in general. Thanks Jeff, my men really liked this a lot. I'd eat it again, but I like others a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Top notch! I did have to make a few changes though. For one, I left out the sausage, and just used additional burger. I used hot taco sauce in place of the chili sauce and left out the green pepper. I also added in a splash of garlic and onion tomato sauce and some garlic powder. I served them on toasted buns with a slice of cheddar on top. We really liked them and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe because it has celery, and it uses real vinegar, not white vinegar which is a cleaning agent & really is not safe for human consumption. A recipe is a guide... not an absolute.... I also don't understand how Sloppy Joes can possibly be made without celery. I was appalled by the top ratings for some of these (thrown together processed foods) recipes. I am getting away from processed foods, that is why I was looking for "from scratch recipes". And people saying the kids don't like peppers so I leave them out... Are you kidding me????? I add all kinds of extra veggies: carrots, swiss chard, Brussels sprouts, spinach, string beans, and/or etc. Everything I don't like I puree in the blender, to add as sauce base. Never know they are there, but I am adding all those essential nutrients Dr Oz says I should be eating every day. Also I don't have time to chop everything... so pureeing everything is so much faster for everyday. If I am bringing to a pot luck I will chop the basics, and have a combination of chopped &/or puree. I use all kinds of ground (or just chopped) meats, also. Don't like spicy heat either, so I leave it out. This, "Jeff's Sloppy Joes" is the recipe I decided on as my base recipe. I never make anything the same twice, I am always amending by as to what I have on hand each time I make a recipe. I also make a big batch, and separate into containers to freeze for future meals. Great recipe Thanks Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by touchedpainter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love the combination of Italian sausage and ground beef. I was hungry for Sloppy Joes and since I normally buy the canned stuff which I don't have on hand, I decided to try this recipe. I had to make homemade chili sauce because it is something I've never purchased and it had brown sugar in it. I wish I'd left out the additional brown sugar in the recipe because overall the meat was too sweet. But that was my fault. I'm not sure this was a big hit because of the sweetness but maybe I'll tweak it more next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and thought it was wonderful! The sausage added a nice flavor. Next time I will probably try hot sausage to add a bit of more kick - Thanks Jeff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good, I doubled the recipe to accommodate my guest. I made them into little sliders and everyone loved them! I gave my picky husband a little to try and he came over in the kitchen and just starred at me with this smirk, I ask "what's wrong"? He said" "can I slap you"? I started laughing. It surprised me cause he is the pickiest person I've ever known. I will be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made exactly as stated. I didn't think these were spicy at all. Tangy maybe. Yummy definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States