Jeff's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This was one of the best sloppy joe recipes I've ever tried. It has a great zesty flavor. It is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I have been making Jeff's Joes for a few years and love them! I am the kind of cook who tries a new recipe every time, but not for sloppy joes. I love the extra kick from the chili sauce and my kids gobble the down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Tangy. Different. My son and DH loved these. I didn't have Italian sausage so I used another half lb. of ground chuck. I let this simmer for about forty minutes. My guys loved this, I didn't as much. They were okay, just not my personal taste. I don't care much for chili sauce flavor in general. Thanks Jeff, my men really liked this a lot. I'd eat it again, but I like others a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe because it has celery, and it uses real vinegar, not white vinegar which is a cleaning agent & really is not safe for human consumption. A recipe is a guide... not an absolute.... I also don't understand how Sloppy Joes can possibly be made without celery. I was appalled by the top ratings for some of these (thrown together processed foods) recipes. I am getting away from processed foods, that is why I was looking for "from scratch recipes". And people saying the kids don't like peppers so I leave them out... Are you kidding me????? I add all kinds of extra veggies: carrots, swiss chard, Brussels sprouts, spinach, string beans, and/or etc. Everything I don't like I puree in the blender, to add as sauce base. Never know they are there, but I am adding all those essential nutrients Dr Oz says I should be eating every day. Also I don't have time to chop everything... so pureeing everything is so much faster for everyday. If I am bringing to a pot luck I will chop the basics, and have a combination of chopped &/or puree. I use all kinds of ground (or just chopped) meats, also. Don't like spicy heat either, so I leave it out. This, "Jeff's Sloppy Joes" is the recipe I decided on as my base recipe. I never make anything the same twice, I am always amending by as to what I have on hand each time I make a recipe. I also make a big batch, and separate into containers to freeze for future meals. Great recipe Thanks Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by touchedpainter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Top notch! I did have to make a few changes though. For one, I left out the sausage, and just used additional burger. I used hot taco sauce in place of the chili sauce and left out the green pepper. I also added in a splash of garlic and onion tomato sauce and some garlic powder. I served them on toasted buns with a slice of cheddar on top. We really liked them and I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love the combination of Italian sausage and ground beef. I was hungry for Sloppy Joes and since I normally buy the canned stuff which I don't have on hand, I decided to try this recipe. I had to make homemade chili sauce because it is something I've never purchased and it had brown sugar in it. I wish I'd left out the additional brown sugar in the recipe because overall the meat was too sweet. But that was my fault. I'm not sure this was a big hit because of the sweetness but maybe I'll tweak it more next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and thought it was wonderful! The sausage added a nice flavor. Next time I will probably try hot sausage to add a bit of more kick - Thanks Jeff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good, I doubled the recipe to accommodate my guest. I made them into little sliders and everyone loved them! I gave my picky husband a little to try and he came over in the kitchen and just starred at me with this smirk, I ask "what's wrong"? He said" "can I slap you"? I started laughing. It surprised me cause he is the pickiest person I've ever known. I will be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made exactly as stated. I didn't think these were spicy at all. Tangy maybe. Yummy definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States