Jeff's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
After my helpful (but somewhat unthinking) teenage son defrosted FOUR pounds of ground beef for me -- What was he thinking?!!!! -- I was scrambling for ways to use it up, and I came across this recipe. Since I absolutely love chili sauce ("Grama's Sweet Chili Sauce" is my favorite), this was an easy choice. With the exception of using "orange" bell pepper and apple cider vinegar (what I had on hand), and only using half as much (hot) Italian sausage (again, what I had on hand), I followed the recipe (4x!). This was DELICIOUS the first night, and now, about two weeks later, after defrosting the first of two batches that I froze (remember-- I had four pounds of ground beef to work with!), it is even better! So I can attest that this freezes beautifully and is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONYA2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love this recipe because it has celery, and it uses real vinegar, not white vinegar which is a cleaning agent & really is not safe for human consumption. A recipe is a guide... not an absolute.... I also don't understand how Sloppy Joes can possibly be made without celery. I was appalled by the top ratings for some of these (thrown together processed foods) recipes. I am getting away from processed foods, that is why I was looking for "from scratch recipes". And people saying the kids don't like peppers so I leave them out... Are you kidding me????? I add all kinds of extra veggies: carrots, swiss chard, Brussels sprouts, spinach, string beans, and/or etc. Everything I don't like I puree in the blender, to add as sauce base. Never know they are there, but I am adding all those essential nutrients Dr Oz says I should be eating every day. Also I don't have time to chop everything... so pureeing everything is so much faster for everyday. If I am bringing to a pot luck I will chop the basics, and have a combination of chopped &/or puree. I use all kinds of ground (or just chopped) meats, also. Don't like spicy heat either, so I leave it out. This, "Jeff's Sloppy Joes" is the recipe I decided on as my base recipe. I never make anything the same twice, I am always amending by as to what I have on hand each time I make a recipe. I also make a big batch, and separate into containers to freeze for future meals. Great recipe Thanks Jeff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by touchedpainter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly and thought it was wonderful! The sausage added a nice flavor. Next time I will probably try hot sausage to add a bit of more kick - Thanks Jeff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
tasty and different, because of the chili sauce, i added mushroom soup, because I thought it was too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Markdale, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Very good, I doubled the recipe to accommodate my guest. I made them into little sliders and everyone loved them! I gave my picky husband a little to try and he came over in the kitchen and just starred at me with this smirk, I ask "what's wrong"? He said" "can I slap you"? I started laughing. It surprised me cause he is the pickiest person I've ever known. I will be making this again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIQUENESS2

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a really good recipe that I altered a bit for my personal taste. Now I don't care for celery so I omitted it and slightly increased the green pepper & chopped onion. Quite delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregory

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: San Juan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
chili sauce is usually found in the aisle with ketchup etc. (for Deborah) It looks like ketchup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
added a little cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
My family really enjoyed these sloppy joes. I cooked the onion and green pepper along with the meat and then drained the fat. Did everything else the same. This will be my "go to" recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States