Jeff's Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Amazing and delicious. I made it just the way the recipe suggested. The whole family loved it! The sausage mixed with the beef is awesome - don't leave that out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I have been obsessed with finding the real "sloppy joe's recipe" they serve at the restaurant in Key West. This one is the closest to the real deal I have found. Yummy- I added a little of cumin, dry mustard and small dash of cinnamon. I also left out the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I wasn't going to rate it because I had to substitute with what I had on hand, but the site won't let me just leave a review. This was delicious. I used about a cup of ketchup instead of the chili sauce. It was mild, just the way I like it. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. I drained most of the fat after sauteeing the beef as well. Everything else was the same. My nephew said they were the best sloppy joes he's ever had and wanted thirds. My kids usually get picky when they see little flecks of green, but I chopped all of the ingredients super fine with a Pampered Chef hand chopper and they had no idea they were eating green stuff. They ate it up. 5 star flavor for the way we made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The family agrees, 5 stars all the way!! I admit I was worried about not using the canned stuff but we are trying to eat more things made from scratch, and I hapened to have a bottle of chili sauce on hand! I warned everyone not to complain if they didn't like it but before I knew it they were going for seconds! Served on homemade buns and with tater rounds. Yummmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic Sloppy Joe recipe. I've made it several times now for friends and family and it was a huge hit. I did not find the recipe to be at all spicy so I added some chipotle powder which gave it a nice kick. I also used a full pound of Italian sausage (mostly because I could only find it in 1 lb packages) which turned out very well without having to increase any other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Made it for a moving party for my family. Everyone loved it and said it was a "keeper recipe". Made it according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
REALLY good - decreased the hot sauce a bit out of deference to small children's palates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I made exactly as stated. I didn't think these were spicy at all. Tangy maybe. Yummy definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I love the combination of Italian sausage and ground beef. I was hungry for Sloppy Joes and since I normally buy the canned stuff which I don't have on hand, I decided to try this recipe. I had to make homemade chili sauce because it is something I've never purchased and it had brown sugar in it. I wish I'd left out the additional brown sugar in the recipe because overall the meat was too sweet. But that was my fault. I'm not sure this was a big hit because of the sweetness but maybe I'll tweak it more next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
After my helpful (but somewhat unthinking) teenage son defrosted FOUR pounds of ground beef for me -- What was he thinking?!!!! -- I was scrambling for ways to use it up, and I came across this recipe. Since I absolutely love chili sauce ("Grama's Sweet Chili Sauce" is my favorite), this was an easy choice. With the exception of using "orange" bell pepper and apple cider vinegar (what I had on hand), and only using half as much (hot) Italian sausage (again, what I had on hand), I followed the recipe (4x!). This was DELICIOUS the first night, and now, about two weeks later, after defrosting the first of two batches that I froze (remember-- I had four pounds of ground beef to work with!), it is even better! So I can attest that this freezes beautifully and is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONYA2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States