Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Absolutely perfect. I used stevia instead of sugar because my family has issues with blood sugar but otherwise I followed the recipe to the letter and it was very tasty. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Perfect! I made this recipe exactly as is except I did not have any onion powder - so I left that out. I have been trying to get a good hot dog chili recipe for years and everyone tells me the ingredients they use but that they do not measure the ingredients so they dont know how much to tell me to add - so I would try over and over and just couldnt get it right! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Husband said it tasted like Dairy Queen's chili. I thought it was too salty. Tasted it as I was making it and I went back to the recipe thinking I must have missed an ingredient or something, but I didn't. I wanted to be WOWED by this, but I just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
We really enjoyed this! The only thing I did differently was at the end, it was still a bit runny, so I thickened w/ some Wondra and that worked great. I would make this again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made this recipe twice--once following the recipe exactly and again with some changes. As written, the recipe is pretty good but is missing 'something' and is a little runny, as other reviewers found (hence the 3 stars). I made it a second time and this time used beef broth instead of water (and omitted adding the extra salt), added 1 clove of garlic, and used tomato paste instead of sauce (made it less runny), and added 1/2 a tsp of brown sugar. I also reduced the amount of chili powder (to 1/2 tsp) to make it more child-friendly, and my toddler and husband both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. I had 3 leftover grilled hamburgers and chopped them up in my food processor. The result was finely chopped meat (which I like) and the chili had that little extra something from the taste of the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was really good, the whole family really liked it. I would have given it 5 stars but it was a little too greasy for my taste. I think next time I will cook the meat first and then add to the sauce. I had no problem with it getting thick, but I also just realized I didn't add the water. oops! :o) Thanks so much for sharing the goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I really like the texture of the ground beef by using the potato masher and cooking in directly in the chili instead of beforehand. It made it like.. well hot dog chili instead of like hearty chili with no beans on a hot dog. The only change I had to make was by force because I didn't have regular canned tomato sauce I only had Rotel tomato sauce (not the diced Rotel tomatoes but actual Rotel tomato sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
So easy and yummy. Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Awesome quick hot dog chili. Great in a pinch. Browned and drained the beef first. Used whole can of tomato sauce w/green chili, 1 Tbsp tomato paste, and 2/3 C water, and boiled down to thick sauce consistency. Also added garlic powder and a pinch of oregano. Tastes better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States