Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Really strong tomato/ketchup taste. A little too sweet for my taste, but very simple easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Great hot dog chill. My husband loves it. You can play around with the recipe to add a different twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I thought this was pretty good, not amazing. I found it a little bland even though I added a fair bit more chili powder. I liked the texture of the meat though and the consistency of it overall, and it was very easy to make. I'd make again if I wanted chili dogs. I also had this over baked potatoes and that was decent too. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed the smooth consistency of this chili. I used half lean beef and half lean pork as I am trying to get rid of some meat. My only complaint is that it was too sweet for me. I would definitely leave the sugar out next time as the ketchup alone added enough sweetness. To counteract the sweetness I added chili sauce and a little extra chili powder. Once I added the chili sauce it was perfect! Beautiful balance of sweet and spicy. I soaked up the grease that rose to the top when it was done cooking and sat for a few minutes. If you let it cook the full 20 minutes maybe 25 minutes this chili is not runny. Though I only used 8 oz of tomato sauce cause that's the size can I buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this last night for hot dogs. In the south we eat homemade slaw, homemade chili, diced sweet onions and mustard on our dogs. This was perfect for a southern hot dog! I used beef broth instead of water. Since I was using 80/20 beef I just cooked my beef and mashed it, drained it, and added it back to pan. Then added the beef broth as needed. I used Rotel's tomato sauce with diced green chiles (try it if you can still find it). I used a small 8 oz can of the tomato/chile sauce for 1.5 lbs of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Absolutely yummy! My husband who doesn't eat chili with beans commented that he could eat this chili with just a spoon. BIG statement coming from him! Thanks so much for sharing this one! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Awesome quick hot dog chili. Great in a pinch. Browned and drained the beef first. Used whole can of tomato sauce w/green chili, 1 Tbsp tomato paste, and 2/3 C water, and boiled down to thick sauce consistency. Also added garlic powder and a pinch of oregano. Tastes better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
So easy and yummy. Family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I really like the texture of the ground beef by using the potato masher and cooking in directly in the chili instead of beforehand. It made it like.. well hot dog chili instead of like hearty chili with no beans on a hot dog. The only change I had to make was by force because I didn't have regular canned tomato sauce I only had Rotel tomato sauce (not the diced Rotel tomatoes but actual Rotel tomato sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was really good, the whole family really liked it. I would have given it 5 stars but it was a little too greasy for my taste. I think next time I will cook the meat first and then add to the sauce. I had no problem with it getting thick, but I also just realized I didn't add the water. oops! :o) Thanks so much for sharing the goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. I had 3 leftover grilled hamburgers and chopped them up in my food processor. The result was finely chopped meat (which I like) and the chili had that little extra something from the taste of the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elvin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States