Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Made this chili last night for dinner over hotdogs,and it's a keeper. I followed the recipe TO THE LETTER. It looks a little unappetizing while it simmers, but I allowed it to simmer over a low heat for about an hour and it was worth the wait. Turned out to be a perfect chili dog dinner. I used oscar meyer classic weiners and Martin's potato roll hotdog buns, with a smear of mayo on the bun, a drizzle of mustard and minced onions on the top. The way I like my chili dogs. For those who aren't fond of semi sweet chili, you could always eliminate the tiny bit of sugar but I never, ever, review these website recipes unless I follow the complete directions exactly. I like this one and made a recipe card for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This chili did not taste bad, it was just not what I was looking for for hot dogs, hamburgers and chili cheese fries. It's a bit sweet, and I didn't quite use as much ketchup as called for. With onions and peppers it would make a really tasty sloppy joes, and I'll use this recipe as a sloppy joe base in the future. After following the recipe and tasting, I added a touch of vinegar, mustard, cumin and garlic powder to reduce the sweet and add more spicy flavor, which made it more what my family was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I am wiping a tear from my eye, Jeff!!! This is awesome! As a child, I practically lived on 'chili buns' (just chili in a hot dog bun) from a drive-in restaurant in my hometown in North Carolina. After I moved away as an adult, I have missed that chili so much. I can't tell you how many restaurants and recipes I have tried with great hope, only to be disappointed. But today I tried your chili, and it takes me back to all those chili buns I had as a child. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Great. Exactly what I was looking for. This chili is perfect on hotdogs, cheese fries, whatever you like. I like to make a double batch when ground beef is on sale and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This really is one of the better hot dog chili recipes I've found. It's simple, quick and great to freeze the leftovers. I usually freeze half and thaw it out next time it's needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Giving this 4 stars because I did change this a little, but without this recipe to inspire me I wouldn't have made it! I had 1/2 bag of vegetarian crumbles left from something else so I used that and grated about a 1/4 of an onion into it, and warmed that up first, then added the tomato sauce (used regular sized can), 1/2 can of tomato paste (eliminated the ketchup and sugar; we wanted savory, not sweet), double the chili powder and added 1 tsp each cumin and oregano, and about 3/4 tsp of garlic powder as well. Added the rest of the ingredients as listed on the recipe, and at the end I added just a dash of cayenne pepper at the end for just a tiny touch of heat. Did not add water and it was PLENTY thick this way! I ended up eating this over fries with some shredded cheese (chili cheese fries!). Awesome sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
A real hit ! I used beef broth instead of water - perfect coney dog topping !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I wanted a good hot dog recipe & this was at top of the list. I read all the reviews & tweaked it a little based on what was said. I doubled the recipe & used ground turkey & the old-fashioned potato masher is perfect for breaking the meat up! I used an 8-oz can tom sauce, at first only used 1/2 cup ketchup since some people said it was too sweet, but it tasted like it was missing something so I went ahead & put the other 1/2 cup in (since I doubled it). I left the sugar out, added an extra tsp of chili powder, and minced about 1/4 of a large onion since I didn't have onion powder. The consistency & texture was just perfect after it simmered 20 min. Is very good recipe & I'm going to add some pictures I took! Definitely would use this recipe again-thanks Jeff!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
It was very close to what I was looking for. Good job, Jeff. Made it my own with a 1/2 tsp of cayenne, and 1 tsp of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I just fixed this tonight for dinner. My husband and I had been craving good, old-fashioned chili dogs for a week now, so I had to try this recipe. I followed it to the letter except for mashing the beef--no time for that. The sauce was delicious and was way better than the stuff from the can. Kudos to Jeff for this delicious version of the classic chili dog sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ava Flavah!

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States