Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is the recipe everyone's been looking for! I love hot dog chili when i'm out but hate the preservatives and other stuff they throw in. I have allergies so I wanted my own. Jeffs is now our family recipe! Jeff, this is amazing! its everything I wanted it to be!I'm in GA and this is the way we love our chili. I love it so much I'm going to make it my chili dinner recipe and add my beans, green peppers and onions! Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I just made this chili for tonight, easy and delicious! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This was so good. Like some other reviewers, I substituted beef broth for the water. I also used a can of rotel diced tomatoes and a full teaspoon of pepper. This was so good. Grilled some Nathan's Famous hot dogs to serve it one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is a very good recipe. For those saying its too runny, it just needs to cook down a little, so I simmered it for 30 extra minutes. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Amazing. So good. This really is a hit and so easy to make. Beats any canned hot dog chili. Why not make it fresh when it takes no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Made this chili last night for dinner over hotdogs,and it's a keeper. I followed the recipe TO THE LETTER. It looks a little unappetizing while it simmers, but I allowed it to simmer over a low heat for about an hour and it was worth the wait. Turned out to be a perfect chili dog dinner. I used oscar meyer classic weiners and Martin's potato roll hotdog buns, with a smear of mayo on the bun, a drizzle of mustard and minced onions on the top. The way I like my chili dogs. For those who aren't fond of semi sweet chili, you could always eliminate the tiny bit of sugar but I never, ever, review these website recipes unless I follow the complete directions exactly. I like this one and made a recipe card for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
This chili did not taste bad, it was just not what I was looking for for hot dogs, hamburgers and chili cheese fries. It's a bit sweet, and I didn't quite use as much ketchup as called for. With onions and peppers it would make a really tasty sloppy joes, and I'll use this recipe as a sloppy joe base in the future. After following the recipe and tasting, I added a touch of vinegar, mustard, cumin and garlic powder to reduce the sweet and add more spicy flavor, which made it more what my family was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I am wiping a tear from my eye, Jeff!!! This is awesome! As a child, I practically lived on 'chili buns' (just chili in a hot dog bun) from a drive-in restaurant in my hometown in North Carolina. After I moved away as an adult, I have missed that chili so much. I can't tell you how many restaurants and recipes I have tried with great hope, only to be disappointed. But today I tried your chili, and it takes me back to all those chili buns I had as a child. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Great. Exactly what I was looking for. This chili is perfect on hotdogs, cheese fries, whatever you like. I like to make a double batch when ground beef is on sale and freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This really is one of the better hot dog chili recipes I've found. It's simple, quick and great to freeze the leftovers. I usually freeze half and thaw it out next time it's needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States