Jeff's Hot Dog Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I made this last night for hot dogs. In the south we eat homemade slaw, homemade chili, diced sweet onions and mustard on our dogs. This was perfect for a southern hot dog! I used beef broth instead of water. Since I was using 80/20 beef I just cooked my beef and mashed it, drained it, and added it back to pan. Then added the beef broth as needed. I used Rotel's tomato sauce with diced green chiles (try it if you can still find it). I used a small 8 oz can of the tomato/chile sauce for 1.5 lbs of beef. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to a T. Absolutely yummy! My husband who doesn't eat chili with beans commented that he could eat this chili with just a spoon. BIG statement coming from him! Thanks so much for sharing this one! It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I made this recipe twice--once following the recipe exactly and again with some changes. As written, the recipe is pretty good but is missing 'something' and is a little runny, as other reviewers found (hence the 3 stars). I made it a second time and this time used beef broth instead of water (and omitted adding the extra salt), added 1 clove of garlic, and used tomato paste instead of sauce (made it less runny), and added 1/2 a tsp of brown sugar. I also reduced the amount of chili powder (to 1/2 tsp) to make it more child-friendly, and my toddler and husband both loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This was really good, the whole family really liked it. I would have given it 5 stars but it was a little too greasy for my taste. I think next time I will cook the meat first and then add to the sauce. I had no problem with it getting thick, but I also just realized I didn't add the water. oops! :o) Thanks so much for sharing the goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Made this chili last night for dinner over hotdogs,and it's a keeper. I followed the recipe TO THE LETTER. It looks a little unappetizing while it simmers, but I allowed it to simmer over a low heat for about an hour and it was worth the wait. Turned out to be a perfect chili dog dinner. I used oscar meyer classic weiners and Martin's potato roll hotdog buns, with a smear of mayo on the bun, a drizzle of mustard and minced onions on the top. The way I like my chili dogs. For those who aren't fond of semi sweet chili, you could always eliminate the tiny bit of sugar but I never, ever, review these website recipes unless I follow the complete directions exactly. I like this one and made a recipe card for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Perfect! I made this recipe exactly as is except I did not have any onion powder - so I left that out. I have been trying to get a good hot dog chili recipe for years and everyone tells me the ingredients they use but that they do not measure the ingredients so they dont know how much to tell me to add - so I would try over and over and just couldnt get it right! This was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is the closest thing to the southern chili for hot dogs I've had in a long time. LOVED IT..however, next time I think I will try not adding the sugar, it was sweeter than I thought it would be and the chili I grew up eating wasn't sweet at all. Ketchup has sugar in it as well, which will probably be enough sweet for us. I did substitute beef broth for the water. Used 93/7 ground beef and took the advice of others, browned the meat and then drained the fat. Even so I followed the recipe exactly other than the method and the beef broth. Now I have a great chili for our hot dogs and it's pretty healthy. The whole family really likes it. Thanks orion3 for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I know everyone hates it when you change recipes, but hey - I'm not a pro and I can't customize it so don't read on if you're annoyed by my notes. Watching fat, so I opted to combine the meat & water first - merrily mashing and squishing along so I could achieve that hotdog sauce consistency. Then I drained meat and skimmed the fat from the liquid. Was worried about the sweetness of our ketchup, so I only added half of what was called for and stopped after that (would have been way too sweet). Entirely skipped the sugar, but added everything else recipe called for. Added back some of the reserved liquid and let it reduce. Finally opted to add a few shakes of Hungarian Hot Paprika for just that little bit of kick. Outstanding and a new hotdog sauce fav! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Awesome quick hot dog chili. Great in a pinch. Browned and drained the beef first. Used whole can of tomato sauce w/green chili, 1 Tbsp tomato paste, and 2/3 C water, and boiled down to thick sauce consistency. Also added garlic powder and a pinch of oregano. Tastes better than canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeTheBaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Devine, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I am wiping a tear from my eye, Jeff!!! This is awesome! As a child, I practically lived on 'chili buns' (just chili in a hot dog bun) from a drive-in restaurant in my hometown in North Carolina. After I moved away as an adult, I have missed that chili so much. I can't tell you how many restaurants and recipes I have tried with great hope, only to be disappointed. But today I tried your chili, and it takes me back to all those chili buns I had as a child. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waynesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
We really enjoyed this! Added about a tsp of garlic powder, upped black pepper to full tsp, chili powder to full Tbsp, used about a Tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. Subbed low-sugar ketchup and Splenda for the ketchup and sugar. Next time I'll add 1/2 cup of sauteed onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Best Damn Chili

Perhaps the best chili recipe out there.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States