Jefferson Davis Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Used deep dish pie which the recipe did puff up to but then when it cooled it cooled down to just a short little pie with an inch of pie crust above it. Tasted good but looked funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
This pie is awesome. I did not make the bourbon whipped cream. I am only rating 4 stars as the recipe isn't real clear on how many pies this makes. I read all the reviews and for some people this recipe yielded 2 deep dish pies. I have no idea how. I got 1 deep dish pie and did have a little filling to throw away. I had to cook quit a bit longer than stated but I'm sure that was because I set the pie on a cookie sheet due to reading reviews stating oven bubble over and I didn't want that mess to clean up. I did not have any bubble over at all. I would recommend this to friends and family. I took it to a family function and there was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickey Irwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
My family has been eating this pie for years. This is the only time I've ever heard of anyone else even knowing about this pie. I LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Not sure if I did something wrong, because I only ended up with one pie, but if I did i'm doing it again cause it was delicious! The pie itself is quite good, with a crunchy crust and creamy center. It's sweet and fulfilling. I only used one pie pan/crust, and I had no spillage in the oven. I did also cover my crusts until the last 15 minutes, and they came out nicely browned. My only real complaint is that the presentation of the pie is not too nice. It doesn't exactly look appetizing, but once you take a bite, you're hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is a nice basic recipe for Jefferson Davis pie. The terrific thing about this pie is that it's so customizable. If you've never had it, it's difficult to explain the taste, but I'll try. It's sort of like a pecan pie minus the pecans, with a candied vanilla-rum flavor. Complicated, right? I further complicate things by adding a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg and ground cloves to the mix. Doing so changes the taste to something closer to a pecan pie without the nuts crossed with a pumpkin pie minus the pumpkin. Also, for this recipe, be sure to use two deep dish pie crusts (there's going to be a whole lot of bubbling going on in the oven) and also cover your crusts with foil because they will burn easily given the lengthy cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Yummm! Fabulous dessert, very very rich. The bourbon added to the whipping cream was awesome. I cut the amount of bourbon in half and there was just a hint of flavor. I didn't want to over-power the taste of this amazing pie. BUT! The recipe says to place ingredients into 2 pie shells...it should just say 1 pie shell! I also had to add about 15 minutes the the baking time but it could have been that my oven is off. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very Rich and Delicious! Please note the recipe is for (2) 9" Pies. If you will take about a 2" srip of aluminum foil and wrap in around the exposed crust until the last 15 min. of baking...it will keep the crust from burning. Happy Thankgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I took them out of the oven about 25 minutes before the recipe said because the pies were burning! Oh and that's another thing. I did not realize the recipe was for 2 pies until I was done making it! Good thing I had 2 crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susana Fairlie
Home Town: Lima, Lima, Peru
Living In: Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Imade this for our family gathering at Thanksgiving and everyone begged me to make it for Christmas. A permanent addition to our traditional holiday menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This was one of my husbands favorite pies when he was a kid. It turned out as well as his Mother made. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Vandever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watauga, Texas, USA
Living In: Keene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States