Jeera Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I was taught how to make this rice by a Pakistani friend of mine. She used Basmati rice, whole cloves, and added frozen peas for color. It was the first time I had ever seen anyone fry raw rice! The aroma while the rice is cooking is fabulous - almost unbearable! She served it with okra that was stewed with tomatoes and we ate by scooping it up with warm pita bread using only our left hands. It was my first hands - on experience of authentic ethnic cooking, and I have since gotten 'the bug' and continue similar types of cooking adventures. I will always think of my friend when I prepare this rice - thank you Uzma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Very easy and delicious rice, even without the cumin seeds (I used ground instead). Very fragrant. Next time I will try basmati rice for a completely authentic touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very nice and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This rice was incredible!!! I absolutely loved it. I made it with brown rice and 3 c. of water. It had the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe, served it this evening with the Beer and Spinach curry off this site. I liked the final presentation with the onions served on top of the rice, rather than just mixed in. It is a little longer to prepare and cook than most rice dishes, but well worth it for a tasty change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This rice went great with the Thai Curry Tofu (also on this site) very simple to make but a safe taste (my husband who doesn't like trying anything "too weird" even liked it) Would definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very very good! Lots of flavour and a welcome change to regular rice/fried rice. I used brown rice and doubled the recipe. I reduced the water to 4 cups instead as it takes forever to cook rice at this altitude and I have no problems with this ratio. Only thing I wished is for the recipe to say how much salt to include... I didn't know what the overall taste of this should be and I only used a scant 1/4 tsp kosher salt. I think I will use 1/2 tsp next time to soak the rice. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Good recipe and complimented Chicken Adobo very nicely. I used brown rice and subbed in honey for the sugar, I think I would use 1 1/2 or 2 T of honey next time. Otherwise everything seemed about right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
The cumin is too strong for me...wouldnt make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The flavors in this are absolutely excellent. I was worried about biting into the peppercorns but they really are not spicy once you cook then down that long. My husband (who greatly dislikes most Indian food) loved this and requested more! The fried onions on top were a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States