Jeera Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is great, even without the cinnamon and cloves (which I just can't make myself like in savoury dishes). It's a lovely, subtle, utilitarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very very good! Lots of flavour and a welcome change to regular rice/fried rice. I used brown rice and doubled the recipe. I reduced the water to 4 cups instead as it takes forever to cook rice at this altitude and I have no problems with this ratio. Only thing I wished is for the recipe to say how much salt to include... I didn't know what the overall taste of this should be and I only used a scant 1/4 tsp kosher salt. I think I will use 1/2 tsp next time to soak the rice. Thank you for a wonderful recipe! I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Good recipe and complimented Chicken Adobo very nicely. I used brown rice and subbed in honey for the sugar, I think I would use 1 1/2 or 2 T of honey next time. Otherwise everything seemed about right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
The cumin is too strong for me...wouldnt make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
The flavors in this are absolutely excellent. I was worried about biting into the peppercorns but they really are not spicy once you cook then down that long. My husband (who greatly dislikes most Indian food) loved this and requested more! The fried onions on top were a great touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pooda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe, served it this evening with the Beer and Spinach curry off this site. I liked the final presentation with the onions served on top of the rice, rather than just mixed in. It is a little longer to prepare and cook than most rice dishes, but well worth it for a tasty change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Easy and delicious. I reduced the amount of water to 2 1/4c or my basmati would have gone soggy. I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Yummy! Easy and made my house smell amazing! Will make this again for sure, maybe add some shrimp. I used frozen, pre-cooked brown rice from Trader Joe's and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta Shirley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sea Cliff, New York, USA
Living In: Dundee, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This rice went great with the Thai Curry Tofu (also on this site) very simple to make but a safe taste (my husband who doesn't like trying anything "too weird" even liked it) Would definately make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Very nice and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States