Jeera Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2000
I recently served this recipe with a simple shrimp scampi and fresh sliced tomatoes. We loved it. It is very aromatic and a wonderful blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
Excellent rice recipe, you don't even need the onions for the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
This is actually quite a yummy recipe although I changed it slightly while making it - I chopped the onions until almost a mash (as my child doesn't like them) and left them in so they were hidden while the other things were also cooking and added more black peppercorns. It turned out really well!!! And my son who turns his nose up at a lot of new things really liked it too. Thank you Moomal for putting it up on allrecipes.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
I used jasmine rice instead of long grain. It was really good and fragrant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I was taught how to make this rice by a Pakistani friend of mine. She used Basmati rice, whole cloves, and added frozen peas for color. It was the first time I had ever seen anyone fry raw rice! The aroma while the rice is cooking is fabulous - almost unbearable! She served it with okra that was stewed with tomatoes and we ate by scooping it up with warm pita bread using only our left hands. It was my first hands - on experience of authentic ethnic cooking, and I have since gotten 'the bug' and continue similar types of cooking adventures. I will always think of my friend when I prepare this rice - thank you Uzma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. I used brown rice and 4 cups of water. I omitted the onion and used a few dashes of pepper instead of the black peppercorns. The aroma and flavor are superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
This is a lovely recipe for a cumin addict like me! I added the onions back into the rice while it cooked (in the rice cooker!), so their flavour would permeate it. Fluffy, aromatic, and delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I was really excited about trying this recipe, it was pretty good, I think there is to much cinnamon and cloves for my families taste though personally i think that next time i make this i will leave that out and just add some garlic with the cumin. I think the cumin is the key with this recipe. thanks for a great alternative recipe for rice. sonya ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
A sweet rice sidedish that would go well with a curry entree. We used minute rice so had to modify recipe some. My husband thought it had a rice pudding flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
This recipe is AWESOME! I fix it with my famous chicken curry and there is usually littl eif any left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEVINSRECIPES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States