Jeera Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Used basamati rice instead of long-grain. Used 1 tsp. of cumin powder instead of 2 tsp. cumin seeds (for 2 servings), I didn’t have the seeds. I ground the cloves myself as I didn’t have ground cloves either. Seemed a bit bland, could possibly use some spicing up. Served with potato curry (on this site) and Murg Makhani.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I enjoyed the flavors of this easy to do rice, but no one else here did. The onions made it great. I didn't have cumin seed and substituted 1/2 tsp cumin powder (I wished now I used quite a bit more) and used basmati rice, and evoo instead of veg oil. I'd make it again if I weren't the only one who'd eat it. 3.5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was so good. The flavors are so complex and wonderful together. Because my family is picky and prefers plain white rice, I cooked the rice alone (for them) and then followed the rest of the recipe, only skipping frying the rice. I added some of the cooked rice into the skillet with all the cooked spices and onions. Yum! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
I doubled the recipe and it still came out, but next time I will up the amount of cumin. Also, I'm thinking I will add raisins and chopped cashews with the water. Overall this rice was tasty and extremely fragrant, but I think it could use a few more flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Smelled wonderful... tasted very weird. Usually we like Indian flavors, but this recipe was just too bizarre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMON79

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was pretty good, a little sweeter than I expected but still a great side dish. I servied with Adrienne's Tom Ka Gai soup (recipe also found on this site), and even though this is Indian and that is Thai they went very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Quiet an interesting taste. I liked it. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I took a suggestion from another reviewer and added peas to the rice and didn't like it. All of the rice tasted like peas, but I could tell that without the peas, the rice would be great. I served the rice with tandoori chicken, parantha, and yogurt. It was a nice Indian style dinner. Lots of wonderful spices filling the air. I will make this rice again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Very easy and delicious rice, even without the cumin seeds (I used ground instead). Very fragrant. Next time I will try basmati rice for a completely authentic touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Yum, just like in the Indian restaurant. Add some frozen peas and carrots and it's the perfect side to any spicy Indian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States