Jeera (Cumin) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MamaNyk
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Amazing simple and exceptional flavor!!! Definitely a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
this is how i make my basmati rice every time. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
It was just YUMMY. The only changes/additions I made was instead of water I used chicken broth and tossed in a handful of frozen peas. It was tastey. I used it as a side dish to BBQ spare ribs and steamed carrots. I love cumin so this was really flavorful. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Speshul Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Absolutely what I was looking for!! I was so excited when I took the first bite. I added turmeric to the rice water while it cooked, so it gave it a nice yellow colouring :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Meh. This wasn't bad, but not "great" either. Plain jasmine or basmati rice would complement an Indian meal just as well (sorry!). I could barely detect the presence of cumin in this. Jasmine rice is aromatic to begin with - and that's the prominent flavor I picked up (i.e. that of the rice itself). All in all, I'm glad to have given your recipe a try, but unfortunately, it's just not for me. Thanks anyways, MEDHALEE. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
BAsmati Rice is drier than Jasmine and the cumin being a bit hard plus the dry rice didn't do much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great simple recipe. Added fresh cinnamin, ground pepper and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
my good friend who is Indian gave me a wonderful cumin rice recipe a few years ago I make it regularly. In her recipe a scrambled egg is mixed in and if you like a few peas it is delicios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Watson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Lots of nice flavor in this dish. I used Basmati rice and it turned out perfectly. I served this with Middle Eastern Cumin Meatballs and it was a great pairing. I'll definitely fix this again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Fine, but even with twice the cumin seeds the flavor was too mild. I would add cumin powder in addition and I'll try some of the other additions the author suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States