Jeera (Cumin) Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
It was just YUMMY. The only changes/additions I made was instead of water I used chicken broth and tossed in a handful of frozen peas. It was tastey. I used it as a side dish to BBQ spare ribs and steamed carrots. I love cumin so this was really flavorful. I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpeshulK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Absolutely what I was looking for!! I was so excited when I took the first bite. I added turmeric to the rice water while it cooked, so it gave it a nice yellow colouring :) Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Meh. This wasn't bad, but not "great" either. Plain jasmine or basmati rice would complement an Indian meal just as well (sorry!). I could barely detect the presence of cumin in this. Jasmine rice is aromatic to begin with - and that's the prominent flavor I picked up (i.e. that of the rice itself). All in all, I'm glad to have given your recipe a try, but unfortunately, it's just not for me. Thanks anyways, MEDHALEE. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
BAsmati Rice is drier than Jasmine and the cumin being a bit hard plus the dry rice didn't do much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great simple recipe. Added fresh cinnamin, ground pepper and cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
my good friend who is Indian gave me a wonderful cumin rice recipe a few years ago I make it regularly. In her recipe a scrambled egg is mixed in and if you like a few peas it is delicios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Lots of nice flavor in this dish. I used Basmati rice and it turned out perfectly. I served this with Middle Eastern Cumin Meatballs and it was a great pairing. I'll definitely fix this again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Fine, but even with twice the cumin seeds the flavor was too mild. I would add cumin powder in addition and I'll try some of the other additions the author suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aijiesi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
A quick tip to add more punch to the cumin rice is to add a few drops of lemon juice before covering the pot (ie before the rice has been cooked). That splash of zest is especially refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Yum! I also added some whole cloves. (like at our fave. Indina place) My husband loved it and was very impressed. Served with chicken tikka masala from this site....it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiraz, Fars, Iran
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States