Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
I am the author of this recipe. Just wanted to share with you my tweaked version. *Two 32 fl oz (2 quarts) of Organic chicken broth A bag of mini carrots - I leave them as is 1 large potato - chopped 3 stalks of celery - chopped 8 frozen chicken tenderloins (I like Tyson), cubed 1 Tbs extra virgin olive oil fresh ginger, garlic or scallion Mrs. Reame's frozen pre-cooked egg noodles or dumplings salt pepper Dutch oven* In dutch oven, add broth and let it come to a boil. Add veggies and pepper. In a separate skillet, add oil, ginger (or garlic or scallions), and salt to sautee. When chicken is cooked, add to the broth. Let broth come to a boil and add noodles. The longer it cooks, the better it tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
415 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
I loved this! Will always make my chicken soup with ginger now:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Williamsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Jean THANK YOU so much for posting this GREAT recipe! This was my first time making homemade chicken noodle soup and my family LOVED it!!!! This soup has great flavor and I even got my 8 yr old to try celery for once and he LOVED it!!! The ginger really gives it a kick and I would have never thought to saute chicken with it. If you want a GREAT Chicken Noodle Soup recipe be sure to try Jean's soup... it's the best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Best Chicken Soup Ever!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
The ginger does add a wonderful element to this soup. You end up with a delicious broth that's got a little more flavor than ordinary chicken soup, but without making it too different than the classic taste I was looking for. I didn't have any fresh ginger, so I added powdered and also tossed in a few cloves of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
This was my first time making homemade chicken noodle soup. Normally my food turns out too salty or overcooked, but this simple recipe was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
this was the first chicken soup i ever made. it was a hit! my boyfriend loves it. i changed it ever so slightly and add ginger to soup while it's cooking for added flavor and also put 1/2 tsp of cilantro. thanks jean for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
A recipe that is easy to prepare and has great taste. The ginger really sets this apart from other chicken noodle soups. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
This was an excellent recipe to start with. I changed a few things around, because I really wanted to make the broth from scratch. I bought a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, and added a small onion, which I sauteed before adding the whole chicken. I then added water to the top of the chicken, and ther remaining ingredients. I also substituted fresh linguine cut into short strips from the refridgerated section, which made the soup even better! The ginger added the perfect amount of zing. My husband said it was the best soup he had ever had in his LIFE! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHMCSHANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
Absolutely easy and delicious & a real keeper. Because I am on a low-salt diet, I used a low-salt chicken base (a granular paste thingy). The unique sauteed ginger approach of the recipe adds a delicious under-taste (but don't overdo it). I used the wide-style egg noodles. The broth was delicious. Because of the carb-protein-veggie combo of this dish, you have a balanced, relatively low-calorie meal for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States