Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
The only change I made was I added fresh garlic. I also used baby carrots because I didn't have any whole carrots. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Great soup. I used rotisserie chicken and then cooked the bones to make the broth. I cooked the bones with onions, garlic, a PARSNIP (which really makes a difference) and then put the cooked chicken in afterwards. It is an excellent way to use up the carcass of the chicken and makes excellent broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
We had turkey & vegetables leftover from the Slow Cooker Turkey Breast recipe on this site. I cut most of the remaining meat off of the bone, cut it into chunks & then simmered the bone in the chicken stock & water. After about 45 minutes, I took it out of the pot & removed the rest of the meat. Next, I cut the carrots, celery & onions into smaller pieces & added them to the stock pot. While they simmered a while, I browned the meat in the oil along with the ginger. I wish I had added a little more ginger because there was a lot of turkey. After the 5 minutes, I removed the ginger, added the meat to the pot along with the noodles. We like a lot of noodles so I added a little extra. Also, a little extra pepper was needed, for our taste. I wouldn't advise adding any salt. Anyway, after about 20 minutes, it was ready to eat. We had a very unusual rainy day in Northern California. This soup really hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This soup was good. I made it exactly as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARINEL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Well, most people that enjoy cooking usually add thier own "special flair" to what ever recipe they use. That said, I made this soup, but fried cubed chicken in a ginger sauce I always keep on hand. While veggies were cooking, I added my usually seasonings and a couple tablespoons of vegetable soup base - then the chicken with all the stock it cooked in. And a final touch - throw in a can of petite diced tomatoes! We will definately have this soup again. The basic recipe looked like it could be low on flavor - but that's where creativity comes in! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
A friend made this soup for me when I was sick, I was so grateful, but, even really sick I could tell how bland this soup is, and really, it barely qualifies as semi-homemade much less home-made. Stick to the canned version, it's tastier and less work for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chaplinj

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Not that much flavor to me! It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I was completely disappointed with this recipe. It was boring and bland. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This recipe is a wonderful classic chicken noodle soup. Adding the ginger root gave it great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States