Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This was great. I read all of the reviews and took a lot of the advice. I boiled my chicken with garlic & ginger and then used that water as my broth. I added salt, pepper, bouillon and some cilantro for flavor. I used more chicken and noodles than the recipe called for because we like a hearty soup! It was a hit! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I made this for my boyfriend when he was sick and took it over to his house and he and his 2 roomates had seconds (the one roomate came up from downstairs to see what smelled so good)!!! I did revise this a bit...I started by boiling a cornish hen in water w/the chopped up ginger root. While it boiled, I let the broth, water, veggies and spices simmer...I added rosemary,minced garlic, basil, alot of parsley and a touch of onion powder...it would have been REALLY bland w/o it. I took the advice of another user and proceeded to add some of the water from my boiled chicken/ginger to the mix (my boyfriend likes extra broth for his crackers)and extra noodles. I will for sure make this again...!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I also added some things to this... I put some fresh rosemary and some ginger slices in a tea infuser and hung that in the pot as well. I also added three whole cloves of garlic, a small onion, some salt, and extra chicken to this. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
Excellent! We ate all of it, for the leftovers I added boiled potatoes - made it a chicken stew instead of soup! Added to many noodles but will make again. Also added more chicken! Sauted the chicken with carrots and onions and a big tablespoon of ginger and in a can of chicken brooth (instead of oil), added a little at a time until it evaporated. Also added fresh rosemary about a tablespoon. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARCIA99116

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
This was a great recipe. I do have to say that I did change some quantities and added some extra ingredients. I used 8 cups of water and 3 1/2 tsp. of chicken bouillon. I also used more chicken and more noodles, 2 cloves of garlic, 3/4 tsp. ginger, 1 tsp. dried rosemary, 1 medium onion, and 1/2 tsp. of pepper. I also didn't saute the chicken or vegetables in oil. I just softened them up with spray oil. Thanks for the great starter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great Recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Very tasty. I gave the soup an Asian spin by adding water chestnuts, some spinach leaves and a few shakes of sesame oil. Since it is so easy, you can do most anything with it with oir without the noodles. I think I might try a southwest addition of cumin, hominy and corn next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
I can't believe it was done so quickly and it is AMAZING! I added more chicken and noodles, but other than that...this soup is a sure bet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERYKAHHH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
This soup was really tasty, easy and quick to make. The only thing I changed was I didn't saute the chicken in oil because I try to stay away from oil if I can. Instead, I boiled one chicken breast in water with the three pieces of ginger, smashed. When it was cooked thru, I saved the water it was boiled in, and used 2 cups of that plus the canned chicken broth instead of plain water the recipe called for. (I used 99% fat free chicken broth and it was still tasty) Then I shredded the breast and added it to the broth. I added a tiny bit of salt to the soup for some extra flavor. Thanks, Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
excellent soup-I use leftover chicken from one that I baked. I took suggestions and added 3 cloves of garlic,rosemary,small chopped onion-used ginger in tube and added a 1/2 cup frozen peas &use broken fetticine noodles--this soup has alot of flavor and spiciness.... -why would anyone eat that stuff in a can,when they can make this --thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States