Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was a wonderful soup for tonights dinner with the chilly temperatures! I sauted my chicken with a little EVOO, chopped red onions, lots of garlic, ground ginger and some fresh parsely. I used two cans of low sodium chicken broth and one can of low sodium cream of chicken. I added some corn and campanelle pasta because that is all I had on hand. I added some basil, rosemary, a pinch of cayenne pepper, a pinch of garlic powder, and pepper. I also used a little cornstarch to thicken the soup--served it all with some toasted wheat rolls--my husband loved the homemade flavor (instead of can soup) and the comfort of warm soup on a chilly night. I will certainly use this recipe again-it is so versatile! Thank you Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I was skeptical that a quick chicken soup would taste good. I pretty much tripled the recipe and it came out great. The fresh ginger makes the dish. My husband says this recipe is a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
this soup was very good, I've never made chicken soup before and this was a good one to start with. I used the skinny egg noodles which cook quickly so the veggies needed a little more time to cook but other than that the soup is great. I added kosher salt and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe. I did a few things different only because of what I had on hand but the ginger in this is fabulous! I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. I also used green beans and corn because that's all I had on hand. My husband just went nuts over this and I didn't mind because hey, it's healthy!! Oh, and one more thing, I also used a chicken soup base and made it a little stronger. I love spices so I added some others that I had on hand like a little crushed red pepper, just enough to give it a kick and I also added some cayenne pepper. Didn't need salt because I used a lot of chicken soup base. Thanks for a great recipe!!! Really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
this was great. I ended up adding another 1 1/2 cups of chicken and noodles to make it thicker. I also put in a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it a little bit. and added some garlic salt to add flavor. My family loved it. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this soup for a friend who was sick. It was very hearty and colorful, a pick-me-up. I had to add a little more flavoring to it, was a little bland for my taste, but she loved it and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good soup! Can't really go wrong with this one. Save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I had to make a few changes according to what was in my pantry. Since I made this a few days after Thanksgiving, I used turkey. Instead of ginger root, I used ground ginger sauteed with the turkey and added Chicken Seasoning suggested by other reviews. I would recommend doubling the recipe as my family almost wiped out this meal in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very good soup. This was my first time making soup. My husband loves chicken noodle soup. I sauteed garlic and onion with my chicken and ginger, and added two chicken boullion cubes to the soup. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love the ginger in this recipe, it kicks it up a notch, plus I love ginger! the only thing I changed about this was adding cornstarch to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States