Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I wasn't able to follow the recipe for quantities at all- I added a lot of broth, and seasoning. I liked the ginger taste- but will probably add more the next time. I also added onion powder and sauteed the chicken with garlic AND ginger. I added baby carrots, chopped celery & frozen peas. We like a "stoupier" soup, so it came out thicker. I used medium shells for noodles. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Recipe is great, but a little bland, so I added ognion powder, it added a nice taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this recipe for me and my boyfriend tonight and it was wonderful. The only change I made was adding a few slices of ginger to the soup and taking them out before serving, it really brought out the ginger taste! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I would recommend cooking the ginger longer with the chicken than 5 minutes. I could not even tast the ginger flavor once the chicken was added to the broth. In fact, it was rather bland and I had to add more spices to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I was so glad to find this recipe. I had a chicken soup recipe that used ginger that I loved, but had lost it when I had a computer crash. I added some garlic, onion, and a tablespoon of soy sauce to give the soup an oriental spin. I used more chicken about 1 1/2 c. I buy bone-in chicken breasts on sale, bone them myself, make broth with the bones, take the chicken meat off them and make soup. It is like a free meal. I also used broken up ramen noodles that we always have left over from Chinese Ramen Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I made a pot of this soup with a few touches. I added a beef bouillon cube, which gave it a nice rich flavor. Added more chicken and more noodles. I garnished the top with fresh cut celery leaves on a whim, and it topped off this soup with seemingly perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
VERY EASY TO MAKE! THIS RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS. INSTEAD OF USING CHICKEN BROTH, I USED A CONDENSED LOW SODIUM PURE CHICKEN BASE. IT TASTED SO GOOD...I WILL DEFINETLY BE COOKING THIS ALL THE TIME IN THE WINTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was SO delicious, and SO easy to make. To those trying this out, don't be afraid of the ginger! It adds a wonderful new flavor while still retaining the classic chicken soup flavor. Thanks so much for the recipe, I totally look like a star thanks to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This soup is very tasty! I did it just a bit differently. I put the broth, carrots, celery, onions, and pepper & Mrs. Dash in a pot on the stove and let it simmer slow. Then in a fry pan, I put olive oil & butter and then the chicken pieces(seasoned with ground ginger). Then I minced garlic and onion and put them on top of the chicken along with some rosemary. I just browned the chicken. Then, I placed the chicken and the pan juices in the simmering broth mixture. I brought to a boil, then simmered for an hour. After that, take out the chicken and tear it into pieces and place back in the broth mix along with the noodles. Ready to Serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I have to give it 5 stars. I've been on a soup kick all winter and have been making enough to give to a bachelor friend of ours. His comment on this one was that it was the best chicken noodle soup that he has had in a long time. Only change I made was to add more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States