Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I highly recommend this recipe. As others suggested, I left the ginger slices in the broth (without eating them), and added garlic powder and dried parsley. I also used whole-wheat corkscrew pasta and this soup is amazing. Relatively cheap with few ingredients....I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Yummy! I sauted fresh onion/carrots and celery from our local farmer's market. And added a bit of minced garlic and that ginger paste you can buy in a tube. Then added 8 cups fresh chicken stock I prepared from the Roast Chicken with Rosemary recipe from this site. I added a small amount of "Organic Better that Buillion". Added 1 cup leftover chicken and about 2 cups dried egg noodles. We like our soup chunky. Salt and pepper wasn't needed, but could be added to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I wasn't able to follow the recipe for quantities at all- I added a lot of broth, and seasoning. I liked the ginger taste- but will probably add more the next time. I also added onion powder and sauteed the chicken with garlic AND ginger. I added baby carrots, chopped celery & frozen peas. We like a "stoupier" soup, so it came out thicker. I used medium shells for noodles. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Recipe is great, but a little bland, so I added ognion powder, it added a nice taste to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I made this recipe for me and my boyfriend tonight and it was wonderful. The only change I made was adding a few slices of ginger to the soup and taking them out before serving, it really brought out the ginger taste! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
I would recommend cooking the ginger longer with the chicken than 5 minutes. I could not even tast the ginger flavor once the chicken was added to the broth. In fact, it was rather bland and I had to add more spices to liven it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I was so glad to find this recipe. I had a chicken soup recipe that used ginger that I loved, but had lost it when I had a computer crash. I added some garlic, onion, and a tablespoon of soy sauce to give the soup an oriental spin. I used more chicken about 1 1/2 c. I buy bone-in chicken breasts on sale, bone them myself, make broth with the bones, take the chicken meat off them and make soup. It is like a free meal. I also used broken up ramen noodles that we always have left over from Chinese Ramen Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I made a pot of this soup with a few touches. I added a beef bouillon cube, which gave it a nice rich flavor. Added more chicken and more noodles. I garnished the top with fresh cut celery leaves on a whim, and it topped off this soup with seemingly perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rabyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
VERY EASY TO MAKE! THIS RECIPE WAS DELICIOUS. INSTEAD OF USING CHICKEN BROTH, I USED A CONDENSED LOW SODIUM PURE CHICKEN BASE. IT TASTED SO GOOD...I WILL DEFINETLY BE COOKING THIS ALL THE TIME IN THE WINTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was SO delicious, and SO easy to make. To those trying this out, don't be afraid of the ginger! It adds a wonderful new flavor while still retaining the classic chicken soup flavor. Thanks so much for the recipe, I totally look like a star thanks to this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States