Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Quick, easy, and very tasty. My husband doesn't eat cooked celery so I made one change - I used 1 stalk of celery cut into large chunks, 1 tsp celery salt, and 1 tsp poultry seasoning. It tastes just like the original recipe without lots of greenery to scare people away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chester, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
My family loved this soup! I doubled the recipe and sauteed the onion, celery and carrot. I had pre baked some chicken so added the ginger root in the pot with everything else. Also used 3/4 bag of Wacky Mac noodles in place of the egg noodles to give it some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAMommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was great homemade soup. Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is the best chicken soup EVER! You must use fresh ginger and let it simmer in the pot with the other veggies. I added a 4" sprig of rosemary and some sliced fresh mushrooms. Instead of noodles, I used wild rice. Thank you for sharing, Jean. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilDish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This soups is so comforting. Every time I'm feeling slightly under the weather or just want something healthy and savory, I make this soup. Wonderful recipe...I do add a bit more ginger, though. It gives it a really soothing element.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
really yummy in my tummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I have made this soup for a couple people and received rave reviews! My mom was wondering what the secret ingredient was and it was the GINGER! You must use fresh ginger root for this. I slice it up and put it in the soup while it is simmering. Then I remove the pieces right before serving. It gives it such a fresh taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I made this as directed and it turned out great...but next time I'll at least double it. I skipped sauteing the ginger in the oil because I had ginger in the freezer and just scraped off a teaspoon or so and added it to the broth. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
My husband and I just finished devouring this soup. I am only giving it 4 stars because I like to make the stock using leftover roast chicken and I had to fudge the recipe accordingly. Here's what I did: Put what was leftover from my 4-5lb chicken in stock pot and covered with cold water. Add 2 bay leaves, a palmful of whole peppercorns, 1 medium onion cut into large chunks, 3-4 cloves smashed garlic and about a thumb-sized piece of fresh, peeled ginger, also smashed. Add about 1 TBsp salt. This sounds like a lot, but trust me, you'll need it. Simmer on medium-low heat with lid on for about 45 mins - 1 hour. Next, strain into large bowl, reserving the broth. Separate chicken from bones and add the meat and the chunk of ginger into the bowl with broth. Discard the remaining bones and onion, bay leaves etc. Put broth back into stock pot and onto medium heat. Add chopped celery and carrot and allow to simmer for about 1/2 hour. Taste broth and adjust seasoning if necessary. If you're like me, you'll probably need to add more salt and pepper. Remove ginger, bring broth to a slow boil add 1.5-2c egg noodles (1/2c of egg noodles equates to about 12 noodles... definitely not enough!). Simmer for about 10 mins and serve. My husband says he isn't normally a fan of soup but he had two servings and all but licked the bowl in the end! The ginger adds a lovely zesty flavor in the background and really completes this soup. It's a recipe I'll come back to again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taricotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
It was very tasty... I used about 2 cups of white rice instead of noodles, and added more veggies, a little onion, parsley, basil, rosemary, onion powder, fresh garlic, and ginger powder. It was a delightful meal for a somber, rainy day. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ctellifson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States