Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
made this recipe for my hubby...totally sick and miserable. i doubled the recipe by using 2 32 oz. chicken broth, 4 cups of water, 6 celery stalks, 6 carrots, about 3 cups of rotiserre chicken. i added 1 tsp. of pepper b/c that's what he likes and then i added a little garlic power, minced onion, italian seasoning (i'm half italian), and a sprinkle of basil. it was awesome! i doubled the recipe in order to have more, for him , or for tomorrow. i will be adding one can of chicked broth when i do reheat to serve again. again, this recipe is awesome! i will definitely make this again, for sick or not sick, it was great!! thanks for posting a simple recipe like this that anyone can tweak in order to make it fit their tastes and needs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Thanks to this recipe I almost always make my chicken soup with ginger now. I grate in ginger to taste and add zucchini, peppers, or other ingredients on hand. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I almost felt guilty making this soup! I usually buy the whole chicken and make it all from scratch... but never again! This soup is sooooooo GOOD AND EASY. My kids who are picky eaters gobble it up... It is a perfect meal for a cold wintery day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Fantastic, the only soup my little sister eats and I make it for my boyfriend whenever he gets sick, and he absolutely loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leashe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I read the recipe and decided to add my own spin on it.... Before I cooked the chicken in a wok skillet I diced and then seasoned the meat with rosemary, thyme and marjoram. While it cooked in the skillet I added 2 dashes of ground ginger. I also added a few dashes of salt, pepper and an italian seasoning mix to the broth and veggies. Also, so it doesn't seem more like a stew, for the 4 serving version I added 2 extra cups of water. I cooked this for myself and my mother and we both loved it. Great soup for a cold winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
This is a wonderful basic chicken soup recipe that allows for some tweaking for personal preference. I highly recommend using Reames frozen egg noodles. They are delicious and have great texture. I also added some carmelized onions and some cooking sherry for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was really good soup! The original recipe does not call for parsley or chopped onion so, I added some dried parsley and dehydrated onion flakes. Will make again. I gave some of this soup to my pregnant friend who had a cold and her mother. They loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. My little girls loves chicken noodle soup (Campbell's) and I dread feeding it to her. I used this recipe instead and the egg noodles were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Very, very nice recipe. Really makes you believe that it fights off cold viruses - with GREAT flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I made several changes to this recipe, but I am giving it 5 stars because it really helped me to have a great base to start with! I took the advice of several others and added more chicken and noodles, added a couple of bullion cubes, a pinch of rosemary, and some parsley. I also boiled my chicken with garlic and a bay leaf and used that water in the soup. It turned out fabulous! I know some get annoyed when you change the recipe, but I agree with what someone else said that it is fun to add your own special touch! BTW I left out the ginger only because my family just had ginger flavored chinese food the night before :)Thanks for a great starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hudak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States