Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was a wonderful soup for tonights dinner with the chilly temperatures! I sauted my chicken with a little EVOO, chopped red onions, lots of garlic, ground ginger and some fresh parsely. I used two cans of low sodium chicken broth and one can of low sodium cream of chicken. I added some corn and campanelle pasta because that is all I had on hand. I added some basil, rosemary, a pinch of cayenne pepper, a pinch of garlic powder, and pepper. I also used a little cornstarch to thicken the soup--served it all with some toasted wheat rolls--my husband loved the homemade flavor (instead of can soup) and the comfort of warm soup on a chilly night. I will certainly use this recipe again-it is so versatile! Thank you Jean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I was skeptical that a quick chicken soup would taste good. I pretty much tripled the recipe and it came out great. The fresh ginger makes the dish. My husband says this recipe is a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
this soup was very good, I've never made chicken soup before and this was a good one to start with. I used the skinny egg noodles which cook quickly so the veggies needed a little more time to cook but other than that the soup is great. I added kosher salt and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe. I did a few things different only because of what I had on hand but the ginger in this is fabulous! I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. I also used green beans and corn because that's all I had on hand. My husband just went nuts over this and I didn't mind because hey, it's healthy!! Oh, and one more thing, I also used a chicken soup base and made it a little stronger. I love spices so I added some others that I had on hand like a little crushed red pepper, just enough to give it a kick and I also added some cayenne pepper. Didn't need salt because I used a lot of chicken soup base. Thanks for a great recipe!!! Really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
this was great. I ended up adding another 1 1/2 cups of chicken and noodles to make it thicker. I also put in a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it a little bit. and added some garlic salt to add flavor. My family loved it. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this soup for a friend who was sick. It was very hearty and colorful, a pick-me-up. I had to add a little more flavoring to it, was a little bland for my taste, but she loved it and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good soup! Can't really go wrong with this one. Save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I had to make a few changes according to what was in my pantry. Since I made this a few days after Thanksgiving, I used turkey. Instead of ginger root, I used ground ginger sauteed with the turkey and added Chicken Seasoning suggested by other reviews. I would recommend doubling the recipe as my family almost wiped out this meal in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very good soup. This was my first time making soup. My husband loves chicken noodle soup. I sauteed garlic and onion with my chicken and ginger, and added two chicken boullion cubes to the soup. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love the ginger in this recipe, it kicks it up a notch, plus I love ginger! the only thing I changed about this was adding cornstarch to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States