Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
this soup was very good, I've never made chicken soup before and this was a good one to start with. I used the skinny egg noodles which cook quickly so the veggies needed a little more time to cook but other than that the soup is great. I added kosher salt and italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe. I did a few things different only because of what I had on hand but the ginger in this is fabulous! I used ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. I also used green beans and corn because that's all I had on hand. My husband just went nuts over this and I didn't mind because hey, it's healthy!! Oh, and one more thing, I also used a chicken soup base and made it a little stronger. I love spices so I added some others that I had on hand like a little crushed red pepper, just enough to give it a kick and I also added some cayenne pepper. Didn't need salt because I used a lot of chicken soup base. Thanks for a great recipe!!! Really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULY2501

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
this was great. I ended up adding another 1 1/2 cups of chicken and noodles to make it thicker. I also put in a can of cream of chicken soup to thicken it a little bit. and added some garlic salt to add flavor. My family loved it. Can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this soup for a friend who was sick. It was very hearty and colorful, a pick-me-up. I had to add a little more flavoring to it, was a little bland for my taste, but she loved it and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Very good soup! Can't really go wrong with this one. Save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe was delicious! I had to make a few changes according to what was in my pantry. Since I made this a few days after Thanksgiving, I used turkey. Instead of ginger root, I used ground ginger sauteed with the turkey and added Chicken Seasoning suggested by other reviews. I would recommend doubling the recipe as my family almost wiped out this meal in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Very good soup. This was my first time making soup. My husband loves chicken noodle soup. I sauteed garlic and onion with my chicken and ginger, and added two chicken boullion cubes to the soup. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love the ginger in this recipe, it kicks it up a notch, plus I love ginger! the only thing I changed about this was adding cornstarch to thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This recipe was a great starting off point. I added half a large onion diced. 1 tsp of rosemary, 1 tbs. dried oregano, 1 tbs. dried basil, and 1 tbs dried parsly. I also added 2 bay leafs. After the soup was done cooking I added 1/2 cup of dried potato flakes to thicken up the broth. It turned out great. My 2-year-old daughter is a very picky eater and she had 2 servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Added onion powder, fresh parsley, spaetzle noodles, and used a ground ginger/garlic puree. Great tasting and was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States