Jean's Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Great soup for cold/flu season. Here are a few changes that I made: added 1 tsp. salt, a dash of cumin, 1/4 cup chopped onion, and 1/2 cup more noodles. I didn't saute the chicken with oil and ginger. Instead I added the ginger slices to the broth and let them cook with the rest of the veggies and took them out just before serving (Like you would a bay leaf.) That way there's no oil. I will definatly make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fondukes
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
My son is sick so I made this for him today. He had two bowls, and he's usually pretty picky. He said to rate it 5 stars. I followed the advice of other reviewers and boiled the chicken in water along with the ginger, some garlic, pepper, onion, paprika and oregano, then added to the chicken broth, carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was a good and easy soup recipe. I will most likely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Breese, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I really liked this. My son and husband have been sick with the flu and I think I might be coming down with it as well...so I decided to make some chicken soup. This is so easy. I just dumped everything into the pot and cooked the chicken in the microwave before adding it to the soup. I used ground ginger and it gave it a nice zest. When the soup was boiling I added spiral pasta cause that is all I had. I ended up with more vegetables, chicken and pasta than broth so I just through in some stock cubes with some extra water. Really good. Also, to make the soup a more yellow color I added a touch of yellow food coloring. Just makes the soup look prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Absolutely delicous and very easy. I used a chicken already cooked from the market and added some garlic and parsley instead of ginger. Whatever way you make it I'm sure it would be delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I changed a few things when I made it because I wanted it thicker instead of all soupy. I started off by sweating my carrots, celery and onion. Then I added my chicken broth. I used more chicken broth than I did water though because I love the taste and I also added some heavy cream to make it creamier. I made a roux for the broth mixture so that it would get thicker and simmered it a lot longer than recommended, probably about an hour and a half instead of the 25 minutes. When I made my chicken I made a rub for the chicken of sage, thyme and ground ginger and a little bit of rosemary. It tasted sooooooooooo good. I almost just ate the chicken plain. :) After I had seasoned the thickened soup to my liking I scooped it onto garlic herb mashed potatoes. It was the perfect feel good meal. I hope you all like my changes. It's really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I loved this recipe. I've made this a few times now. The first time I made as written except I did add the cut slices of ginger to the soup as I already had the chicken cooked after making my own chicken stock. Another time I added beef bullion for a different taste as another reviewer had suggested. But this recipe is a keeper no matter how you make it. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rugby, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I highly recommend this recipe. As others suggested, I left the ginger slices in the broth (without eating them), and added garlic powder and dried parsley. I also used whole-wheat corkscrew pasta and this soup is amazing. Relatively cheap with few ingredients....I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesslane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Yummy! I sauted fresh onion/carrots and celery from our local farmer's market. And added a bit of minced garlic and that ginger paste you can buy in a tube. Then added 8 cups fresh chicken stock I prepared from the Roast Chicken with Rosemary recipe from this site. I added a small amount of "Organic Better that Buillion". Added 1 cup leftover chicken and about 2 cups dried egg noodles. We like our soup chunky. Salt and pepper wasn't needed, but could be added to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I wasn't able to follow the recipe for quantities at all- I added a lot of broth, and seasoning. I liked the ginger taste- but will probably add more the next time. I also added onion powder and sauteed the chicken with garlic AND ginger. I added baby carrots, chopped celery & frozen peas. We like a "stoupier" soup, so it came out thicker. I used medium shells for noodles. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States